Defending Dunlop National Rally champions, Declan Boyle and Brian Boyle (Subaru WRC) made the perfect start to this season’s campaign with a start to finish victory in the Hotel Ballina/Kennedy Motors Mayo Rally. the first event of the eight round series.

In slippery conditions, they finished two minutes and 21.8 seconds ahead of the MG ZR of Roy White and James O’Brien. 

Paddy McVeigh and Gary McElhinney,  also is a Subaru WRC, were a minute and 1.1 seconds further behind third.

The Group N category was won by Josh Moffett and John Rowan (Mitsubishi). 

The Longford/Cork duo of Tommy Doyle and Liam Moynihan (Renault Clio R3) were the top two wheel drive competitors. 

While the Dunlop “Drive of the Day” award was won by Steve Wood and Keith Moriarty in their Subaru WRC.

Wicklow's Daniel Barry and co-driver Gordon Noble were fifth in their R4 Mitsubishi.