Ballygunner 0-16 Na Piarsaigh 1-09

Ballygunner are back into the Munster Club Senior Hurling Championship final following a four-point win over Na Piarsaigh at the TUS Gaelic Grounds.

Eleven points from Pauric Mahony propelled the Waterford champions to victory in a game that never really caught fire.

Ballygunner held an eight-point lead heading into the final stages but a late Adrian Breen goal gave Na Piarsaigh hope.

However, Mahony put any hopes of a comeback to bed with his sixth free of the game to seal a spot in the decider with Clare's Clonlara.

The scores were level twice in the opening 11 minutes as they game struggled to take any shape or pattern.

Shane Dowling did deny Dessie Hutchinson with a superb low save in the third minute after an excellent move from Ballygunner.

Points from Mahony and Ronan Power gave Ballyguunner a two-point advantage at the end of the first quarter but a classy Breen strike from play had that back to one almost immediately.

Two Mahony placed balls and an effort from play by Hutchinson then had Ballygunner 0-7 to 0-3 ahead on the 22 minute mark.

Na Piarsaigh rallied late in the half with three Ronan Lynch strikes that left the half time score at 0-7 to 0-6 in Ballygunner’s favour.

Mahony hit the first two scores of the second half to stretch that to a three-point lead and the Waterford side dominated the third quarter to be five to the good with their centre forward in excellent form.

Harry Ruddle and two from Mahony then extended their advantage to eight heading into the final minutes.

A Lynch free and an opportune Breen goal from close range gave Na Piarsaigh some hope in added time but Mahony’s 11th of the contest booked their final spot.

SCORERS - BALLYGUNNER: Pauric Mahony 0-11 (0-6 frees, 0-2 '65), Ronan Power and Dessie Hutchinson 0-2 each, Harry Ruddle 0-1.

NA PIARSAIGH: S Dowling; E McEvoy; M Casey, C King; V Harrington, W O'Donoghue, M Foley; C Boylan, JJ Carey; K Downes, P Casey, D Dempsey; W Henn (0-01), R Lynch (0-07, 5f, 2'65s), A Breen (1-01).

SUBS: K Dempsey for Carey (43 mins), J Fitzgerald for Foley (48), W Kearns for King (51 mins),

BALLYGUNNER: S O'Keeffe; I Kenny, B Coughlan, T Foley; S O'Sullivan, Phillip Mahony, R Power (0-02); C Sheahan, P Leavey; M Mahony, Pauric Mahony (0-11,6f 2 '65s) P Hogan; D Hutchinson (0-02), Kevin Mahony, Patrick Fitzgerald.

SUBS: H Ruddle (0-01) for Fitzgerald (46 mins), Billy O'Keeffe for Hogan (60 mins)

REFEREE: Michael Kennedy (Tipperary).