Thurles Sarsfields 2-17 Loughmore-Castleiney 0-23

A Liam McGrath point after 62 minutes earned Loughmore-Castleiney a deserved draw against favourites Thurles Sarsfield in the Tipperary senior hurling final at Semple Stadium.

The draw was no less than Loughmore, who were seeking their first success since 2013, deserved and it keeps their hopes of a Tipperary senior hurling and football double alive as they face into Clonmel Commercials, the holders, in the football final next Sunday.

The game itself did not live up to expectations and was pedestrian at times, but was redeemed by the closeness of the exchanges and the exciting finish and both will be happy to have another day.

Denis Maher of Thurles Sarsfields celebrates scoring his side's second

Goals in the 9th and 10th minutes by Denis Maher for Sarsfields put them in the driving seat and they led 2-6 to 0-4 at the water break. From then on thoughk, Loughmore were the better side, and with Tipperary star John McGrath deadly accurate off frees they were only four points behind at half-time, 0-11 to 2-9.

They continued to have the better of things on the resumption, but Sarsfields' stubborn resistance kept the favourites in front 2-13 to 0-17 at the second water break.

The best of the game came in the last quarter as last year's beaten finalists Loughmore hit four points on the trot to go ahead, 0-21 to 2-13 and looked set for victory. Sarsfields however held their nerve.

Points by Pa Bourke and Aidan McCormack brought them level, and though John McGrath again nudged Loughmore ahead after 57 minutes, Sars struck back for points by Conor Stakelum and a long-range free by Ronan Maher to hit the front as the game went into injury time.

In a heart-stopping finish, Liam McGrath saved the day for Loughmore with the levelling point after 62 minutes.

A fitting result as neither side deserved to lose.

Thurles Sarsfields: P McCormack; Paul Maher(0-1), Padraic Maher, S Ryan; J Derby, R Maher(0-1 f),D Corbett; S Cahill, M Cahill; C Stakelum(0-1), A McCormack(0-6,4fs), D Stakelum(0-1); P Bourke(0-5), D Maher(2-1), P Creedon(0-1).

Subs: C Moloney for Derby(50mins), B McCarthy for McCormack(57mins);

Loughmore-Castleiney: A McGrath(0-1,f); W Eviston, J Hennessy, L Egan; B McGrath, J Meagher, T McGrath; C Connolly(0-2), T Maher; E Sweeney(0-1), L McGrath(0-3), N McGrath(0-3); Ed Connolly, L Treacy, J McGrath(0-12,8fs).

Subs: Ciaran McGrath(0-1) for E Connolly(46mins), Conor McGrath for Sweeney(51mins)

Referee: C Doyle, Silvermines