skip to main content

'A disgrace' - Tyrrell on controversial penalty calls

Referee James Owens indicates a penalty for Tipperary during the Munster semi-final against Clare
Referee James Owens indicates a penalty for Tipperary during the Munster semi-final against Clare

Jackie Tyrell described the decision to award Tipperary a penalty early in the second half of their Munster semi-final victory over Clare as "ludicrous" and a "disgrace".

The Premier County advanced to Munster final meeting after a four-point victory over the Banner at LIT Gaelic Grounds, but there was sharp focus on a couple of big calls by match referee James Owens.

Early in the second half, with the Clare holding a two-point advantage, Aidan McCarthy was sinbinned for a reckless challenge on Jake Morris near the sideline.

Even though the incident occurred more than 30 yards from goals and with a number of Clare defenders present, because it was inside the 20 metre line, Owens deemed it to be a goal scoring opportunity and awarded the penalty, duly dispatched to the net by Jason Forde.

In a significant momentum change, Tipp outscored their opponents 2-04 to 0-02 in the 10-minute period with 14 men, and were further aggrieved in the closing stages when Barry Heffernan escaped any sanction for a challenge on Aron Shanagher in the square with the Banner desperately seeking a goal.

Speaking after the match, Clare manager Brian Lohan said he had "serious reservations" about the Tipperary penalty decision.

"I think the boos at the end of the game from the crowd is a reflection of what did happen. We are just stunned with it," he told RTÉ Sport.

Lohan insisted he had no problem with the rule that was introduced this season - "it's the interpretation is the problem" - and couldn’t comprehend how the match official had decided that the foul on Jake Morris denied a goal scoring opportunity.

"We have no problem with how we play, or the opposition. We just want a bit of fair play and we didn’t get that today.

"I’d say he [James Owens] was the only person in the ground that thought it was a goal scoring opportunity."

Speaking after the match, former Kilkenny defender Jackie Tyrrell voiced his frustration with both calls.

"There’s no way Jake Morris is going to score a goal from there. He had three defenders to beat, and possibly Rory Hayes, so that’s four," The Sunday Game panellist said.

"So every time there are four defenders between the goal and the attacker, that’s a goal scoring opportunity?

"I know we are in our first few weekends of the championship, but I’d love to get rid of this rule and throw it in the river because that was a disgrace. To think that’s a sinbin on the sideline, yet a ball onto the edge of the square is not a sin bin?

"It’s ludicrous. James Owens need to be held accountable.

"If you are looking at both of them, one is clear cut to me – Clare should have had a penalty and a sinbin for Barry Heffernan – but this [Morris incident] is not a sinbin."

Read Next