Goals from Tadhg Óg Murphy and Kieran ‘Fraggy’ Murphy helped Sarsfields to a comprehensive 2-18 to 0-08 victory over Glen Rovers in the Cork SHC club final.

Sarsfields claimed their fourth title in seven years after a game in which they out-played and out-scored Glen Rovers; for Rovers, the long wait for a county title goes on.

Sarsfields captain Murphy scored the first goal within the first eight minutes of the game at Páirc Uí Chaoimh, and Sarsfields maintained control throughout, Murphy and Gavin O’Loughlin scoring fine points to take them in at half-time 1-10 to 0-03 points ahead.

When Murphy scored his goal it left Sarsfields 2-17 to 0-07 ahead with the result in no doubt, and there was still time for Cian McCarthy to score two more points, Donal Cronin managing one of his own for Glen Rovers.

In the Mayo SHC final, Ballyhaunis saw off Tooreen 1-12 to 1-10 to take the title. The win is a remarkable second title for Ballyhaunis in a week, after the club won the Mayo intermediate football crown last weekend. 

In Roscommon, goals were the key ingredient for Four Roads as they sealed county glory after beating Athleague 3-11 to 0-11. 

Calry/St Joseph’s are Sligo champions after an utterly dominant display against Western Gaels. Calry/St Joseph’s eventually ran out 4-14 to 0-03 winners at the end of a very one-sided affair.

In Meath, Kiltale had far too much for Trim, ending up winners on a 1-25 to 0-12 scoreline. Kiltale had gone in at half-time seven points ahead, 0-13 to 0-06, and pulled away in the second half, with Jack Regan particularly impressive for Kiltale.

Meanwhile, in the Ulster club SHC semi-finals, Slaughtneil (Derry) and Cushendall (Antrim) will have to do battle again after extra-time failed to separate them. 

The sides were level, Slaughtneil 0-21 and Cushendall 3-12 at the end of regular time, and both added fives point in extra-time so that the game ended Cushendall 3-17 Slaughtneil 0-26 after extra-time.

The winners of the replay will face Portaferry (Down) after they overcame Fermanagh's Lisbellaw 2-17 to 1-11 in the other semi-final.


Cork SHC final
Glen Rovers 0-08 Sarsfields 2-18

Meath SHC final
Kiltale 1-25 Trim 0-12

Mayo SHC final
Ballyhaunis 1-12 Tooreen 1-10

Roscommon SHC final
Athleague 0-11 Four Roads 3-11

Sligo SHC final
Calry/St Joseph's 4-14 Western Gaels 0-3

Ulster club SHC semi-finals
Slaughtneil 0-26 Cushendall 3-17 (after extra-time)
Lisbellaw 1-11 Portaferry 2-17