Tipperary have beaten Galway by 2-18 to 2-15 to win the All Ireland final. Tipp led from the outset and were deserved winners of their 25th Liam MacCarthy Cup in an exciting contest. Galway were within striking distance throughout the game, but Tipp managed to reply to everything thrown at them.

Although the teams were evenly matched, Galway were the more wasteful team in the first half and Tipp had a two-point 1-09 to 1-07 half time lead. Mark O'Leary scored Tipp's first goal after 21 minutes but Galway kept in touch throughout the half and Eugene Cloonan scored a goal for the Tribesmen just two minutes later. Brendan Cummins pulled off a spectacular point-blank save but Cloonan was on hand and made no mistake.

O'Leary grabbed his second goal for Tipp just two minutes inside the second half after a goalmouth scramble. Although it looked ominous for Galway at that stage, they would not let Tipp pull away and Fergal Healy set up a thrilling finale when he grabbed their second goal with just ten minutes to go. However, Tipp were not to be denied and were always that bit stronger in a well-contested, clean encounter which was a smashing advertisement for the game.

Filed by Greg McKevitt