Kilkenny manager Brian Cody has sensationally dropped Leinster final captain Denis Byrne for this Sunday's Guinness All-Ireland semi-final with Galway at Croke Park. It's just a little over a month since Byrne lifted the O'Keeffe Cup following Kilkenny's mauling of Wexford in the provincial final, but with the forward struggling for form, he makes way as John Power returns from injury to start at centre half forward.

Byrne's omission means John Hoyne keeps his place in the starting line-up having replaced Power in the Leinster final before being sent-off. Stephen Grehan, who was excluded from last year's All-Ireland success after playing in a soccer match the weekend before the final, returns at left half forward, while Peter Barry is named at left half back. Sean Dowling and Canice Brennan lose out.


J McGarry, M Kavanagh, N Hickey, JJ Delaney, P Larkin, E Kennedy, P Barry, A Comerford, B McEvoy, J Hoyne, J Power, S Grehan, C Carter, DJ Carey, H Shefflin.


M Crimmins, G Kennedy, M Healy, O Canning, D Hardiman, L Hodgins, C Moore, D Tierney, R Murray, J Rabitte, M Kerins, K broderick, A Kerins, E Cloonan, AN Other.

Filed by Shane Murray