Shane Lowry and Padraig Harrington will be among the early starters while Rory McIlroy will get under way in the afternoon on Thursday as the tee times for the Dubai Duty Free Irish Open first round were confirmed.

The 2021 tournament begins on Thursday, with 2015 champion Soren Kjeldsen of Denmark part of the first group to take to the Mount Juliet course in Kilkenny at 7.30am.

Lowry, the 2009 winner, will start his bid for the title from the back nine at 8am in a trio including Northern Ireland's Jonathan Caldwell and two-time major winner Martin Kaymer.

Team Europe Ryder Cup captain Harrington, who won the tournament in 2007, tees off 10 minutes later, also from the 10th hole.

McIlroy is among the late starters, with the four-time major winner and 2016 Irish Open winner taking to the course alongside England's Tommy Fleetwood and reigning champion John Catlin of USA at 1pm, with that group starting on the front nine. Graeme McDowell is on course 10 minutes later.

Irish players' first round tee times (* denotes players starting on back nine)

8.00am: Shane Lowry, Jonathan Caldwell*

8.10am: Padraig Harrington*

8.20am: Simon Thornton

9.20am: Cormac Sharvin, Paul Dunne

12.50pm: Niall Kearrney

1pm: Rory McIlroy

1pm: Rowan Lester*

1.10pm: Graeme McDowell

2pm: Colm Moriarty

2.10pm: Caolan Rafferty*

2.20pm: Gavin Moynihan, Mark Power*

2.30pm: Neil O'Briain

2.30pm: Robin Dawson*

Watch live coverage of the opening round of the Dubai Duty Free Irish Open on Thursday from 1.30pm on RTÉ2 and RTÉ Player.