International team captain Ernie Els has named Jason Day, Adam Hadwin, Sungjae Im and Joaquin Niemann as his four wild cards for next month's Presidents Cup in Melbourne.

Former world number one Day joins fellow Australians Adam Scott, Marc Leishman and Cameron Smith in the youngest ever International team, with the average age of the 12 players just over 29.

Day, who partnered Scott to victory in the 2013 World Cup at Royal Melbourne, had narrowly missed out on qualifying automatically for the team to face the United States - captained by Tiger Woods - from 12-15 December.

"I want to thank Ernie for having the faith in me and I'm looking forward to catching up with the whole team down in Australia," Day said.

Niemann will be the first player from Chile to compete in the Presidents Cup and received the news on his 21st birthday.

"This is really big for my country and South America," Niemann said. "Golf has been growing a lot in Chile and this is going to help those kids who are growing up and starting to play the game."

Im, who is also 21, was named PGA Tour rookie of the year for the 2018-19 season and will make his Presidents Cup debut, while Hadwin makes a second appearance after being on the losing side at Liberty National in 2017.

Woods will name his four wild cards on Friday and is widely expected to pick himself following his recent victory in the Zozo Championship in Japan.