James Sugrue, Conor Purcell and Caolan Rafferty have been named on the Great Britain and Ireland team to play the USA in the Walker Cup at Hoylake next month.

In June, 22-year-old Mallow man Sugrue became just the eighth Irish winner in the 134-year history of the Amateur Championship thanks to a one-hole win over Euan Walker at Portmarnock.

He delayed turning pro following that triumph and will now head to Royal Liverpool for the weekend of 7/8 September. 

Purcell, 22, became the first ever Irishman to win the Australian Amateur Championship last January after emerging victorious at Woodlands Golf Club in Melbourne. 

The Portmarnock golfer held his nerve in a dramatic finale against Nathan Barbieri, who had fought back from four down with 10 holes to play to force a play-off when Purcell failed to make par in the 36th and final hole.

Rafferty, 26, won the West of Ireland Championship at Rosses Point in April.

GB&I are bidding to win back the trophy after the USA secured a 19-7 victory in the 2017 match at Los Angeles Country Club. 

English Amateur champion Conor Gough and Alex Fitzpatrick - whose brother Matt played in the Walker Cup in 2013 - are also selected alongside Scotland's Walker, who finished runner-up in both the Amateur Championship and European Amateur Championship.

"It has been a very difficult decision to select ten players for Great Britain and Ireland from a strong squad but we have been very impressed with the results of those we have picked and we believe they will give us the best chance of regaining the Walker Cup against a strong American team," said captain Craig Watson.

"The Walker Cup is a fantastic opportunity for these amateur golfers to demonstrate their talents on the big stage and it will be an experience that will remain with them for the rest of their lives. We are looking forward to the match at Hoylake and I’m sure the players will give it their very best to win."

Great Britain and Ireland
Alex Fitzpatrick (Hallamshire)
Conor Gough (Stoke Park)
Harry Hall (West Cornwall)
Thomas Plumb (Yeovil)
Conor Purcell (Portmarnock)
Caolan Rafferty (Dundalk)
Sandy Scott (Nairn)
Tom Sloman (Taunton & Pickeridge)
James Sugrue (Mallow)
Euan Walker (Kilmarnock)