Former champion Darren Clarke will hit the opening tee shot in the 148th Open Championship at Royal Portrush.

Clarke, who owns a house overlooking the Dunluce Links, is scheduled to get play under way at 0635 on Thursday alongside Amateur Championship winner and Mallow man James Sugrue and American Charley Hoffman.

The 50-year-old lifted the Claret Jug at Royal St George's in 2011 but has missed the cut in three of the last four years and had mixed feelings about his position as "honorary" starter.

"The question is are they going to put me off on the first tee shot at 6.30am?" Clarke said earlier this month.

"That means you're not really supposed to do any good in the tournament. We'll see."

Three-time major winner Padraig Harrington is next of the Irish out, at 7.30am alongside England's Matthew Fitzpatrick and American Andrew Putman.

Shane Lowry starts his round at 7.52am alongside 2013 champion Phil Mickelson and Branden Grace. 

Portrush native Graeme McDowell is off at 09.14am in the company of 2016 winner Henrik Stenson and American Xander Schauffele, who finished joint second at Carnoustie last year.

Rory McIlroy, who set the course record of 61 at Portrush as a 16-year-old, will get his quest for a first major title in five years under way at 10.09am alongside US Open champion Gary Woodland and Paul Casey.

McIlroy admits it would "mean the world" to win a second Open title on home soil as Northern Ireland hosts the event for just the second time and the first since Max Faulkner's victory in 1951.

World number one Brooks Koepka, who has finished second, first and second in the year's majors to date, tees off at 1.04pm in the same group as 2010 champion Louis Oosthuizen and India's Shubhankar Sharma.

Like many players in the field Koepka has never played Royal Portrush before, but his caddie Ricky Elliott was born and raised in the town and was a talented golfer in his own right, often competing against good friend McDowell in local and national tournaments.

The final group of Thailand's Gunn Charoenkul, Japan's Yosuke Asaji and England's Ashton Turner tee off at 4.16pm.

(Irish in bold)

06:35: Darren Clarke (Nir), James Sugrue (Ire), Charley Hoffman (US)
06:46: Emiliano Grillo (Arg), Sung Kang (Kor), Thomas Thurloway (a) (Eng)
06:57: Andy Sullivan (Eng), Christiaan Bezuidenhout (Rsa), Alex Levy (Fra)
07:08: Chan Kim (US), Zander Lombard (Rsa), Brandon Wu (a) (US)
07:19: Richard Sterne (Rsa), Romain Langasque (Fra), Matthias Schmid (a) (Ger)
07:30: Padraig Harrington (Ire), Matthew Fitzpatrick (Eng), Andrew Putnam (US)
07:41: Bubba Watson (US), Eddie Pepperell (Eng), Rafa Cabrera Bello (Esp)
07:52: Phil Mickelson (US), Shane Lowry (Ire), Branden Grace (Rsa)
08:03: Alex Noren (Swe), Mike Lorenzo-Vera (Fra), Sam Locke (Sco)
08:14: Webb Simpson (US), Sergio Garcia (Esp), CT Pan (Tai)
08:25: Ryan Palmer (US), Andrea Pavan (Ita), Dylan Frittelli (Rsa)
08:36: Kyle Stanley (US), Bob MacIntyre (Sco), Andrew Johnston (Eng)
08:47: Mikko Korhonen (Fin), Oliver Wilson (Eng), Curtis Knipes (a) (Eng)
09:03: Ian Poulter (Eng), Sungjae Im (Kor), Kiradech Aphibarnrat (Tha)
09:14: Henrik Stenson (Swe), Xander Schauffele (US), Graeme McDowell (Nir)
09:25: Haotong Li (Chi), Russell Knox (Sco), Bernd Wiesberger (Aus)
09:36: Jason Kokrak (US), Conor Syme (Sco), Austin Connelly (Can)
09:47: Zach Johnson (US), David Duval (US), Corey Conners (Can)
09:58: Francesco Molinari (Ita), Bryson DeChambeau (US), Adam Scott (Eng)
10:09: Rory McIlroy (Nir), Gary Woodland (US), Paul Casey (Eng)
10:20: Rickie Fowler (US), Kevin Kisner (US), Hideki Matsuyama (Jap)
10:31: Jim Furyk (US), Siwoo Kim (Kor), Jimmy Walker (US)
10:42: Luke List (US), Alexander Bjork (Swe), Paul Waring (Eng)
10:53: Shugo Imahira (Jap), Nate Lashley (US), Benjamin Hebert (Fra)
11:04: Mikumu Horikawa (Jap), Callum Shinkwin (Eng), Garrick Porteous (Eng)
11:15: Prom Meesawat (Tha), Matthew Baldwin (Eng), Jack Senior (Eng)
11:36: Tom Lehman (US), Joaquin Niemann (Chile), Miguel Angel Jimenez (Esp)
11:47: Byeong Hun An (Kor), Jorge Campillo (Esp), Chris Wood (Eng)
11:58: Joel Dahmen (US), Adri Arnaus (Esp), Dimitrios Papadatos (Aus)
12:09: Stewart Cink (US), Rory Sabbatini (Slo), Innchoon Hwang (Kor)
12:20: Erik van Rooyen (Rsa), Kurt Kitayama (US), Jake McLeod (Aus)
12:31: Ryan Fox (NZ), Shaun Norris (Rsa), Dongkyu Jang (Kor)
12:42: Tyrrell Hatton (Eng), Keith Mitchell (US), Thomas Pieters (Bel)
12:53: Justin Thomas (US), Tommy Fleetwood (Eng), Thorbjorn Olesen (Den)
13:04: Brooks Koepka (US), Louis Oosthuizen (Rsa), Shubhankar Sharma (Ind)
13:15: Billy Horschel (US), Jazz Janewattananond (Tha), Aaron Wise (US)
13:26: Jordan Spieth (US), Marc Leishman (Aus), Danny Willett (Eng)
13:37: Cameron Smith (Aus), Adam Hadwin (Can), David Lipsky (US)
13:48: Paul Lawrie (Sco), Chez Reavie (US), Justin Harding (Rsa)
14:04: Takumi (A) (Jpn), Tom Lewis (Eng), Brandon Stone (Rsa)
14:15: Lucas Glover (USA), Joost Luiten (Ned), Nino Bertasio (Ita)
14:26: Ernie Els (Rsa), JB Holmes (USA), Abraham Ancer (Mex)
14:37: Brandt Snedeker (USA), Lee Westwood (Eng), Brian Harman (USA)
14:48: Justin Rose (Eng), Tony Finau (USA), Lucas Bjerregaard (Den)
14.59: Dustin Johnson (USA), Jason Day (Aus), Keegan Bradley (USA)
15:10: Tiger Woods (USA), Matthew Wallace (Eng), Patrick Reed (USA)
15:21: Jon Rahm (Spa), Patrick Cantlay (USA), Matt Kuchar (USA)
15:32: Kevin Streelman (USA), Doc Redman (USA), Robert Rock (Eng)
15:43: Adrian Otaegui (Spa), Yuta Ikeda (Jpn), Isidro Benitez (Mex)
15.54: Patton Kizzirer (USA), Sang Hyun Park (Kor), Yuki Inamori (Jpn)
16:05: Yoshinori Fujimoto (Jpn), Doyeob Mun (Kor), Andrew Wilson (Eng)
16:16: Gunn Charoenkul (Tha), Yosuke Asaji (Jpn), Ashton Turner (Eng)