Denmark's Thorbjorn Olesen has secured a Ryder Cup debut after Matt Fitzpatrick came up short in his last-ditch bid to make the team.

Fitzpatrick needed to win the final event in Denmark to overhaul Olesen but was unable to do so despite back-to-back rounds of 66 over the weekend at Silkeborg Golf Club.

The 23-year-old briefly held the clubhouse lead on 16 under par but was overtaken minutes later when South Africa's Erik van Rooyen finished 18 under in the group behind following a closing 65.

That meant Olesen will join Francesco Molinari, Justin Rose, Tyrrell Hatton, Rory McIlroy, Tommy Fleetwood, Jon Rahm and Alex Noren in the European team which will try to regain the trophy at Le Golf National in Paris at the end of September.

European captain Thomas Bjorn will name his four wild cards on Wednesday