Both Rory McIlroy and Padraig Harrington will have to wait until Thursday afternoon to begin their tilt at the 2018 Open Championship as the tee times were announced in Carnoustie this afternoon.  

2014 Open champion Rory McIlroy tees off at 12.53 and is grouped with Thorbjorn Olesen and Marc Leishmann.

Padraig Harrington, who won the Open the last time it was held at Carnoustie in 2007, tees off late on Thursday at 2.48pm alongside two-time Masters champion Bubba Watson and Matt Wallace. 

Both Paul Dunne and Shane Lowry have very early starts on Thursday morning with the former teeing off beside Ross Fisher and Austin Cook at 7.30am and the latter in the very next grouping alongside Tyrrell Hatton and Patrick Cantlay (7.41am). 

The only remaining Irish player in the field, Darren Clarke, tees off at 9.36am with fellow former major champions Bernhard Langer and Retief Goosen. 

Graeme McDowell narrowly missed out on securing his place at the Open, his final round of 71 in Scotland on Sunday only enabling him to finish in 63rd place. 

Tiger Woods faces a lengthy wait to make his first Open Championship start since 2015. Three-time winner Woods, who missed out in the last two years due to injury, will get his campaign for a 15th major title under way at 3.21pm alongside Japan's Hideki Matsuyama and Irish Open winner Russell Knox.

Defending champion Jordan Spieth gets his round underway at 9.58am and is grouped alongside Justin Rose and Kiradech Aphibarnrat in one of the more high-profile trios. 

World No. 1 Dustin Johnson tees off at lunchtime (1.04pm) and has perennial Thursday challenger Charley Hoffman and Swede Alex Noren for playing partners.

Justin Thomas and Jason Day both tee off shortly after, at 1.26pm and 1.37pm respectively.