Jordan Spieth will begin his bid for the third leg of an unprecedented grand slam alongside one of the men he narrowly defeated to win the second.

Spieth, who won the first two majors of the year - the US Masters and US Open, has been paired with Dustin Johnson for the opening two rounds of the 144th Open at St Andrews, with Japan's Hideki Matsuyama making up the 9:33am tee time on Thursday.

Johnson had a 12-foot putt on the 72nd hole to win the US Open, but saw his eagle attempt slide four feet past the hole and missed the birdie attempt to force a play-off.

Spieth will replace Rory McIlroy as world number one if he wins at St Andrews and completes the third leg of an unprecedented calendar grand slam.

Spieth's play-off victory in the John Deere Classic on Sunday means he can overtake McIlroy, who has been ruled out of his title defence with an ankle injury, in the rankings by lifting the Claret Jug.

The winners of the last three Open Championships at St Andrews will also play the first two rounds together on the Old Course, 2000 and 2005 champion Tiger Woods drawn with 2010 winner Louis Oosthuizen and Australia's Jason Day at 9:55am.

Oosthuizen recovered from an opening 77 in the US Open - playing partners Woods and Rickie Fowler shot 80 and 81 respectively - to charge through the field and finish joint second alongside Johnson.

Day collapsed on the final hole of his second round at Chambers Bay due to an attack of vertigo but completed the hole and the tournament, taking a share of the lead into the final round before finishing joint ninth.

Paul Dunne is the first Irish golfer in action and the Greystones amateur will tee off at 6:43am  alongside Todd Hamilton, winner of the 2004 British Open, and another American James Hahn.

Shane Lowry also out in the morning, teeing off alongside Retief Goosen and Kevin Streelman at 7:49am.

Graeme McDowell tees off half an hour after Lowry at 8.22am and is joined by another former US Open champion in Webb Simpson, as well as young American amateur Oliver Schniederjans.

Ryder Cup captain Darren Clarke goes out at 9:22am alongside Italy’s Matteo Manassero and French amateur Romain Langasque.

Padraig Harrington, meanwhile, will play his round after midday with Scotland’s Marc Warren and Wen-Chong Liang from China, teeing off at 12.39pm.

Five-time champion Tom Watson gets his final Open appearance under way at 8:33am alongside 2012 winner Ernie Els and American Brandt Snedeker, the R&A having granted the 65-year-old a special exemption.

Nick Faldo, who had also previously said this Open would be his last but may now play at Troon next year, is alongside Justin Rose and Scottish Open winner Rickie Fowler at 2:45pm, immediately after the group containing Matt Kuchar, Phil Mickelson and Henrik Stenson.

Denmark's Thomas Bjorn will hit the first shot at 6:32am, with the final group of Japan's Teshima Taichi, England's Robert Dinwiddie and Sweden's Rikard Karlberg teeing off at 4:13pm.


(British and Irish unless stated, Irish players in bold, (a) denotes amateurs)
6:32 Thomas Bjorn (Den), Greg Owen, Rod Pampling (Aus)
6:43 Todd Hamilton (USA), (a) Paul Dunne, James Hahn (USA)
6:54 Graham Delaet (Can), Brian Harman (USA), Russell Knox

7:05 Alexander Levy (Fra), Matt Every (USA), David Lingmerth (Swe)
7:16 Robert Streb (USA), Joost Luiten (Ned), Matt Jones (Aus)
7:27 (a) Jordan Niebrugge (USA), Anthony Wall, Byeong-Hun An (Kor)
7:38 Sandy Lyle, Charley Hoffman (USA), Kevin Na (USA)
7:49 Shane Lowry, Retief Goosen (Rsa), Kevin Streelman (USA)

8:0 Luke Donald, Hunter Mahan (USA), Carl Pettersson (Swe)
8:11 Billy Horschel (USA), Victor Dubuisson (Fra), Ross Fisher
8:22 (a) Oliver Schniederjans (USA), Webb Simpson (USA), Graeme McDowell
8:33 Ernie Els (Rsa), Brandt Snedeker (USA), Tom Watson (USA)
8:44 JB Holmes (USA), Brendon Todd (USA), Shinji Tomimura (Jpn)
9:0 Bubba Watson (USA), Ian Poulter, Charl Schwartzel (Rsa)

9:11 Lee Westwood, Sergio Garcia (Esp), Patrick Reed (USA)
9:22 Matteo Manassero (Ita), (a) Romain Langasque (Fra), Darren Clarke
9:33 Hideki Matsuyama (Jpn), Dustin Johnson (USA), Jordan Spieth (USA)~
9:44 Kevin Kisner (USA), Paul Lawrie, Ryan Palmer (USA)
9:55 Louis Oosthuizen (Rsa), Jason Day (Aus), Tiger Woods (USA)

10:06 Brooks Koepka (USA), John Senden (Aus), Tadahiro Takayama (Jpn)
10:17 Stewart Cink (USA), Ben Curtis (USA), David Duval (USA)
10:28 Greg Chalmers (Aus), Mikko Ilonen (Fin), David Howell
10:39 David Hearn (Can), Raphael Jacquelin (Fra), Eddie Pepperell
10:50 Tyrrell Hatton, Scott Arnold (Aus), (a) Paul Kinnear

11:01 Daniel Brooks, Adam Bland (Aus), Gary Boyd
11:12 Jonathan Moore (USA), Scott Hend (Aus), Ryan Fox (Nzl)
11:33 Marcel Siem (Ger), Jaco Van Zyl (Rsa), Mark Calcavecchia (USA)
11:44 Thomas Aiken (Rsa), Jonas Blixt (Swe), David Lipsky (USA)
11:55 Soren Kjeldsen (Den), Morgan Hoffmann (USA), Danny Lee (Nzl)

12:06 Pablo Larrazabal (Esp), Cameron Tringale (USA), Richie Ramsay
12:17 Ben Martin (USA), Hiroshi Iwata (Jpn), Steven Bowditch (Aus)
12:28 George Coetzee (Rsa), Anirban Lahiri (Ind), Rafael Cabrera Bello (Esp)
12:39 Wen-Chong Liang (Chn), Padraig Harrington, Marc Warren
12:50 John Daly (USA), Jason Dufner (USA), Miguel Angel Jimenez (Esp)

1:01 Zach Johnson (USA), Bernd Wiesberger (Aut), Tommy Fleetwood
1:12 Gary Woodland (USA), Danny Willett, Thongchai Jaidee (Tha)
1:23 Geoff Ogilvy (Aus), Francesco Molinari (Ita), Bill Haas (USA)
1:34 Mark O’Meara (USA), Russell Henley (USA), (a) Gunn Yang (Kor)
1:45 Bernhard Langer (Ger), Tom Lehman (USA), Justin Leonard (USA)

2:01 Ryan Moore (USA), Hiroyuki Fujita (Jpn), Stephen Gallacher
2:12 Martin Kaymer (Ger), Jimmy Walker (USA), Adam Scott (Aus)
2:23 Jamie Donaldson, Yuta Ikeda (Jpn), Keegan Bradley (USA)
2:34 Matt Kuchar (USA), Phil Mickelson (USA), Henrik Stenson (Swe)
2:45 Rickie Fowler (USA), Justin Rose, Nick Faldo
2:56 Branden Grace (Rsa), Jim Furyk (USA), Paul Casey

3:07 (a) Ashley Chesters, Harris English (USA), Andy Sullivan
3:18 Koumei Oda (Jpn), Marc Leishman (Aus), Kiradech Aphibarnrat (Tha)
3:29 Edoardo Molinari (Ita), Romain Wattel (Fra), James Morrison
3:40 Mark Young, Daniel Berger (USA), Pelle Edberg (Swe)
3:51 Ben Taylor, Brett Rumford (Aus), Tom Gillis (USA)

4:02 Alister Balcombe, Scott Strange (Aus), Marcus Fraser (Aus)
4:13 Taichi Teshima (Jpn), Robert Dinwiddie, Rikard Karlberg (Swe)