A steely performance and excellent accuracy in front of the posts saw Kildare crowned U20 Leinster Football Champions this evening after a 0-17 to 0-15 victory over Dublin.

Kildare couldn't have asked for a better start with two points straight within the first ninety seconds.

Ryan O’Dwyer responded for the Dubs but Kildare defence well on top in the early stages with Athy man James McGrath swallowing up everything that came anywhere near the half back line early on.

A brilliant turnover from the Kildare defence moments later led to a lightening quick counter and wonderful individual score from Tommy Gill. Kildare caused Dublin problems on the break all evening with their turnover of ball close to goal and then lightening quick attack on the break.

Kildare were playing with a real determination and belief in their play as the first half progressed.

Dublin were sticking to their task and three unanswered points from O’Dwyer and Murray left just one between the sides with twenty minutes played.

Adam Fanning and Ryan O’Dwyer were in a league of their own in the opening half in terms of point scoring and exchanged two sublime scores from distance with the crowd in awe.

With just a minute remaining in the opening half Luke Breathnach showed electric pace before levelling the game with a fine score off his left to leave the side all square with 0-08 apiece at half time.

The second half began with the same recurring pattern as the first had ended with. Both sets of players booming incredible individual points from distance with players all across the pitch showing off their skill.

First was Fionn Murray who showed sublime skill to kick 45 metre free from the ground straight over the bar followed by a huge effort from distance by Adam Lynam rising the ball sky high and straight between the posts.

Dublin to their credit were level once more on forty minutes thanks to a quick fire combo of points from Murray and O’Dowd and just wouldn’t let Kildare go away. Dublin 0-11 Kildare 0-11.

Heading into the final ten minutes and Kildare began to make a move at wrestling control of a very tight contest.

Bagnall, Farrell and Fanning each pointed for Kildare to put three points between the sides as they looked to kick on with five minutes remaining.

Dublin weren’t going to go down without a fight though and just as they had done throughout the game they dug right back in and kicked the next two scores through the dangerous Murray and Breathnach to narrow the gap to one.

As the clock entered the red Dublin had multiple chances to level the game once more but agonisingly could not get that elusive score.

Substitute Ronan Cullen and Senan Forker both kicked wide either side of a close range Conor Tyrrell mark also put wide.

Kildare’s accuracy was the difference and their insurance point came with the last score of the game through substitute James Dalton to leave Kildare crowned Leinster U20 Football Champions for 2022.

Kildare: Cormac Barker (0-1); Harry O'Neill, Dean O’Donoghue, Mark Maguire; Tommy Gill (0-2), James McGrath, Aedan Boyle; Brendan Gibbons, Luke Killian; Niall O’Regan, Daniel Lynam (0-2), Shane Farrell (0-1); Aaron Browne (0-1, 1f), Adam Fanning (0-4), Eoin Bagnall (0-4)

Subs: Niall O’Regan for Aeden Boyle (40), Darragh Swords (0-1) for Aaron Browne (49), Jack McKevitt for Ryan Burke (53), Adam Conneely for Brendan Gibbons (58), James Dalton (0-1) for Adam Fanning (60)

Dublin: Hugh O'Sullivan; Kieran Conroy, Theo Clancy, Harry Donaghy; David O'Dowd (0-1), Greg McEneaney, Conor Tyrrell; Adam Waddick, Senan Forker; Tom Brennan, Fionn Murray (0-5, 3f), Seamus Smith; Ryan O'Dwyer (0-3, 1f), Luke Breathnach (0-5), Sean Kinsella

Subs: Ronan Cullen and Peter Duffy for Seamus Smith and Tom Brennan (36), Luke Ward for Sean Kinsella (0-1) (43), Ben Millist for Harry Donnelly (45)