Cillian O'Connor will make his first start for Mayo against Galway on Sunday since sustaining an Achilles injury against Clare in an Allianz League match last June.

O'Connor, who did see some game time in the Division 1 league final against Kerry on 3 April, has been named in the full-forward line for the Connacht SFC quarter-final encounter at Hastings MacHale Park.

In all Mayo boss James Horan has made four changes to the side from that heavy loss to the Kingdom.

In defence, Oisin Mullin replaces Rory Brickenden at full-back with Eoghan McLaughlin named at wing-back in place of Enda Hession.

Aidan O'Shea moves to midfield from centre-forward to replace the injured Jordan Flynn and will now partner his club mate Matthew Ruane.

Kevin McLoughlin comes into the team in place of Jack Carney at wing forward with Ryan O'Donoghue named at centre-forward and Conor Loftus on the other wing.

Cillian O'Connor is named to start at corner-forward, filling the void left by O'Shea's move to the middle of the park with Jason Doherty on the edge of the square and James Carr in the other corner.

Enda Hession, Rory Brickenden, Diarmuid O'Connor, Jack Carney and Aiden Orme are all named on the bench.

Galway boss Padraic Joyce has made three changes.

Shane Walsh replaces Dessie Conneely after appearing as a substitute in the Division 2 final against Roscommon. He

Connor Gleeson starts ahead Conor Flaherty between the sticks and Dylan McHugh is in for Seán Fitzgerald.

Mayo: Rory Byrne; Lee Keegan, Oisín Mullin, Padraig O’Hora; Stephen Coen, Michael Plunkett, Eoghan McLaughlin; Aidan O’Shea, Matthew Ruane; Kevin McLoughlin, Ryan O’Donoghue, Conor Loftus; James Carr, Jason Doherty, Cillian O'Connor.

Subs: Colm Reape, Enda Hession, Rory Brickenden, David McBrien, Conor O’Shea, Fergal Boland, Darren McHale, Aiden Orme, Darren Coen, Diarmuid O'Connor, Jack Carney.

Galway: Connor Gleeson; Liam Silke, Seán Kelly, Jack Glynn; Dylan McHugh, John Daly, Kieran Molloy; Paul Conroy, Matthew Tierney; Finnian Ó Laoi, Niall Daly, Johnny Heaney; Robert Finnerty, Damien Comer, Shane Walsh.

Subs: James Keane, Johnny McGrath, Cillian McDaid, Billy Mannion, Tony Gill, Patrick Kiely, Paul Kelly, Owen Gallagher, Cormac McWalter, Dessie Connelly, Tomo Culhane.