Limerick will be playing in Division 2 of the Allianz Football League next season following a 1-16 to 0-14 win over Fermanagh at the TUS Gaelic Grounds.

Billy Lee's side secured second place behind Louth in Division 3 and are now also assured of a place in the Sam Maguire Cup for 2023.

Josh Ryan’s star studded display helped Limerick to a five point victory over a Fermanagh side that were never allowed to get in full flow despite a solid start.

Points from Ciaran Corrigan, Josh Largo Ellis and Sean Quigley saw Fermanagh 0-03 to 0-01 ahead after six minutes with Ryan getting Limerick on the board.

A second Ryan score and Hugh Bourke’s first of the game levelled the game before James Naughton saw Limerick into a lead they didn’t relinquish.

Bourke and Ryan added to the total before Conall Jones got Fermanagh’s first score in 15 minutes to put two between the sides.

Limerick then hit a crucial blow on 24 minutes when Cillian Fahy and Bourke combined for Ryan to palm into the net past Sean McNally.

That goal put Limerick five in front but Fermanagh rallied in the latter parts of the first half to see the score at 1-08 to 0-08.

Jones and Corrigan reduced Limerick’s lead to one soon after the restart but Cian Sheehan settled Limerick nerves with an excellent point, their first in 19 minutes.

Darragh McGurn soon had Fermanagh back to within one but two from Ryan and one from Fahy saw Limerick to a 1-12 to 0-11 lead after 52 minutes.

Limerick continued to attack in the final quarter with efforts from Hugh and Robbie Bourke, Ryan and Tommy Griffin capping off an excellent victory.

Limerick: D O’Sullivan; S O’Dea, B Fanning, M Donovan; C Sheehan (0-01), I Corbett, P Maher; D Treacy, C Fahy (0-01); A Enright (0-01), B Donovan, J Naughton (0-01); P Nash, J Ryan (1-06, (0-02f, 0-01m), H Bourke (0-04, 0-01m).

Subs: K Ryan for B Donovan (11, inj), R Bourke (0-01) for Nash (47), C McSweeney for Enright (58), T Griffin (0-01) for Fahy (67), D Noonan for J Ryan (72).

Fermanagh: S McNally; L Flanagan, J Cassidy, A Breen (0-01); J McMahon (0-01), R O’Callaghan, J Largo Ellis (0-01); R Jones, J McDade; C Corrigan (0-02), D McGurn (0-03), R Lyons (0-01); G McKenna (0-01), C Jones (0-02), S Quigley (0-01, 1f).

Subs: B Horan (0-01) for McDade (17), D Leonard for McKenna (h-t), G Jones for C Jones (54), O Kelm for Largo Ellis (54), K Connor for O’Callaghan (67).

Referee: J Henry (Mayo)