Kilcoo 1-11 Glen 0-11

Defending champions Kilcoo will face Derrygonnley in the Ulster Club senior football final early next year after seeing off fellow heavyweights Glen after extra-time.

The foggy setting of Armagh's Athletic Grounds was the backdrop to a cagey and absorbing first half, with duels and battles among the crowded defences.

It was always going to be a great tactical battle between Kilcoo manager Mickey Moran and Glen boss Malachy O’Rourke and it certainly didn’t disappoint in that department.

Possession was key in the first half as the sides finished 0-04 each. Miceal Rooney, Ryan Johnston and Paul Devlin were on target for the Magpies, while Danny Tallon, Emmett Bradley and Conor Glass hit back for the Derry champions.

Rooney needed only 23 seconds to edge Kilcoo ahead and the Down kingpins led for much of the first half, thanks to the pace of Ryan and Shealan Johnston and Dylan Ward, while Ceilum Doherty and Devlin kept the scoreboard ticking over.

Paul Gunning and the lively Ciaran McFaul kept Glenn in touch, and Emmett Bradley’s fisted point sent the game into extra-time.

Glenn took the lead for the first time after a magnificent Glass free, but it was short-lived as on 68 minutes Kilcoo turned over Glen keeper Connlan Bradley’s kickout and Devlin picked out the perfect pass to Jerome Johnston, who slotted into the net at the near post for a cracking goal to continue his remarkable record of scoring a goal in every championship game this season.

In the second half, Glen resorted to dropping high balls into the Kilcoo defence, but young Ryan McEvoy excelled in defence.

Substitute Stevie O’Hare kept Glen in the contest with his scores, but Devlin struck a beauty as the minutes ticked away and Kilcoo booked back-to-back Ulster finals.

Glen: Connlan Bradley, Michael Warnock, Ryan Dougan, Connor Carville, Tiarnan Flanagan (0-01), Ciaran McFaul (0-01), Ethan Doherty, Conor Glass (0-02, 0-1 free), Emmett Bradley (0-01 free), Eunan Mulholland, Jack Doherty, Conor McDevitt, Paul Gunning (0-01 free), Danny Tallon (0-03, 0-3 frees), Conleth McGuckian.

Subs: Alex Doherty for Gunning 45’, Conor Gallagher for Conor Carville 62’, Stevie O’Hara (0-02, 0-2 frees) for Conleth McGuckian 56’ Adam McGonigle for Eunan Mulholland 70’,

Kilcoo: Niall Kane (0-01 45’), Niall Branagan, Ryan McEvoy, Aaron Branagan, Miceal Rooney (0-02), Anthony Morgan, Eugene Branagan, Dylan Ward (0-01), Aaron Morgan, Ceilum Doherty (0-02), Jerome Johnston (1-00), Shealan Johnston (0-01), Conor Laverty, Ryan Johnston (0-01), Paul Devlin (0-03, 0-3 frees).

Subs: Daryl Branagan for Anthony Morgan 50’, C Rooney for Laverty 57’, Aidan Branagan for Aaron Morgan 58’, Conor Laverty for Daryl Branagan 75’.

Referee: Noel Mooney (Cavan).