Galway manager Henry Shefflin will come up against Brian Cody and his native Kilkenny on the May bank holiday weekend after the fixtures for the 2022 Leinster Senior Hurling Championship were revealed.

Shefflin, who succeeded Shane O'Neill in the role in October, will begin with a trip to Wexford on 16/17 April before home games against Westmeath (23/24 April) and the Cats (30 April/1May), a trip to Laois (14/15 May) before rounding off the group stage with a home game with Dublin (21/22 May).

Holders Kilkenny will begin with a trip to Mullingar to face Westmeath, while round one will also include a Leinster clash between Dublin and Laois.

The Leinster final will be held on Saturday, 5 June.

Munster and All-Ireland champions Limerick begin their 2020 provincial season with a trip to Cork in a repeat of this year’s All-Ireland final while Waterford host Tipperary.

Clare have a bye week in round one but begin their campaign away to Tipperary in round two.

Dates for these fixtures are to be announced at a later date.

Leinster Senior Hurling Championship

Round one (16/17 April)

Dublin v Laois, Wexford v Galway, Westmeath v Kilkenny

Round two (23/24 April)

Kilkenny v Laois, Wexford v Dublin, Galway v Westmeath

Round three (30 April/1 May)

Laois v Wexford, Galway v Kilkenny, Westmeath v Dublin

Round four (14/15 May)

Dublin v Kilkenny, Laois v Galway, Westmeath v Wexford

Round five (21/22 May)

Kilkenny v Wexford, Galway v Dublin, Laois v Westmeath

Munster Senior Hurling Championship

Round one

Cork v Limerick, Waterford v Tipperary

Round two

Limerick v Waterford, Tipperary v Clare

Round three

Clare v Limerick, Waterford v Cork

Round four

Cork v Clare, Limerick v Tipperary

Round five

Tipperary v Cork, Clare v Waterford