Loughmore-Castleiney 1-12 Clonmel Commercials 1-11

An injury time goal by John McGrath saw Loughmore-Castleiney claim the Tipperary senior football title for the 15th time, and first since 2016, as they toppled holders Clonmel Commericals in a contest full of drama at Semple Stadium.

Commercials were bidding for a hat-trick of titles having beaten Loughmore in another cliff-hanger last year, and they looked on their way with a goal by Michael Quinlivan after 4 minutes. They led 1-2 to 0-2 at the water break.

Loughmore gradually worked themselves into the game and at half-time they were 0-6 to 1-5 adrift, John McGrath (Loughmore) and Jason Lonergan (Commercials) each having a brace of points in the second quarter.

A tight third quarter saw Commericals go four clear but two Conor Ryan frees for Loughmore had his side two points behind at the second water break 1-9 to 0-10.

John McGrath, with the ball, scored the crucial late goal at Thurles

In an tension-filled last quarter Commercials lost Seamus Kennedy to a black card after 50 minutes. Jamie Peters pointed for them but Conor Ryan and Liam McGrath had Loughmore points as the game move into injury time.

In the 61st minute, after hesitation in the Commercials' defence, John McGrath pounced to rifle home a goal that gave Loughmore the lead for the first time(1-12 to 1-10).

Commercials threw everything into attack and had a Jason Lonergan point after 62mins, but time ran out on them and Loughmore were champions, also keeping their prospects of a hurling and football double alive with their hurling final replay against Sarsfields due next weekend.

Loughmore started without county men John Meagher and Brian McGrath, both nursing injuries, but McGrath came on in the closing stages to play his part in the win. Team captain Willie Eviston, John McGrath, Conor Ryan, Joey Hennessy, and Aidan McGrath were their key men.

Commercials were devastated at the result having looked winners for so long. The loss of Seamus Kennedy for the closing ten minutes was a huge blow to them but Jason Lonergan, Kevin Fahey, Michael Quinlivan, Liam Ryan and Cathal Deely did all in their power to secure a 19th title for the club.

Loughmore-Castleiney: S Hennessy; L Egan, J Hennessy, W Eviston; J Ryan. E Meagher, T Maher; L Treacy, E Connolly(0-1); L McGrath(0-1), J McGrath(1-2,0-1f),N McGrath; C Ryan(0-7,4fs), A McGrath, Conor McGrath

Subs: E Sweeney(0-1) for C McGrath(h/t), Ciaran McGrath for Connolly(42mins), B McGrath for Meagher(53mins), T McGrath for A McGrath(62mins);

Clonmel Commercials: M O Reilly; C Cannon, L Ryan, J Aherne; P Looram(0-1), K Fahey(0-2), J Peters(0-1); Conal Kennedy, S Kennedy; J Kennedy, M Quinlivan(1-0), Colman Kennedy(0-1); J Lonergan(0-3), S O Connor(0-2,1f), R Peters

Subs: M Murphy for Aherne(28mins), C Deely(0-1) for J Kennedy( (h/t), P McGarry for O Connor(56mins); K Harney for R Peters(56mins);

Referee: D O Mahoney, Ardfinnan