Baltinglass 0-10 Blessington 0-11

Kevin Quinn was the hero of the hour as Blessington pipped Baltinglass by a point in a dramatic Wicklow SFC decider, scooping their first title in 38 years.

Coming up against the defending champions, Blessington were in charge for most of the contest but their dominance was hardly represented by the scoreboard, where the margin was only 0-06 to 0-05 at the break.

Blessington's Eoin Keogh reaches for possession amid the throng

Under the cosh, Baltinglass sought to close down space in their defence, limiting the flow of scores and then relying on county goalkeeper Mark Jackson to ping scores from placed balls, which he did regularly. The Wicklow no.1, as is his wont, wound up top scorer for the 2020 champions, with four of their 10 points.

Blessington controlled the cagey third quarter and pushed the lead out to 0-09 to 0-06, substantial in such a low scoring encounter - but that the cue for a Baltinglass rally.

Jackson stroked two 45s and then Tommy Keogh levelled the game with only two minutes remaining. This teed up a frenetic end-game, Paul McLoughlin restoring Blessington's advantage from a 45 before Billy Quinn hit back with a leveller.

The crowd was bracing themselves at having to do it all again until corner forward Kevin Quinn lobbed over the winning score at the death, giving Blessington only their third Wicklow SFC crown and their first since 1983.

Manager Jonathan Daniels has now led teams to junior (Kilmacanogue), intermediate (Dunlavin) and senior titles in the Garden County.

Blessington: J Sargent, S Bohan, J Gilligan, C Gallagher, K Hanlon (0-01). P McLoughlin (0-2), B Bohan C Maguire, KJ Rogers, J Cotter, P O'Connor (0-02), E Keogh (0-01), D Cooney, A McLoughlin (0-03, 2f), K Quinn (0-02).

Subs: M Shannon for D Cooney, D Boothman KJ Rogers.

Baltinglass M Jackson (0-04, 2f), D Gethings, C Lee, K Furlong, P Burke, B Cullen (0-01), T Burke, K Murphy, J Kennedy, C Heaslip (0-02), J Keogh (0-02), S Doody, T Keogh (0-01), A McHugh, J McGrath.

Subs: P Burke for S Doody; DK Kelly for A McHugh.

Referee: Darragh Byrne (Ballymanus).