Kerry have announced the appointment of a sub-committee to determine the next senior inter-county manager.

Peter Keane recently completed his three-year term and is still in the frame for a fourth year in charge. He will, however, have to re-apply for the role.

Since Kerry's exit, other contenders have come into the mix, with former manager Jack O'Connor recently resigning as Kildare manager, not long after saying the Kerry job still had a "lure" to him on the Irish Examiner Gaelic Football podcast.

Kerry's Eye reported that a combination of Seamus Moynihan and Donie Buckley are eager to contend for the manager's position.

This evening, Kerry disclosed that a sub-committee had been established to appoint the next senior manager, the committee comprising of Tim Murphy (Chairperson), Eamon Whelan (Vice Chairperson), Peter Twiss (Secretary), John O' Leary (Munster Council Delegate), Donal Daly (Kerry Games Manager).

Keane was appointed Kerry manager at the end of 2018, after leading the county minors to three successive All-Ireland titles. He guided Kerry to the All-Ireland decider in 2019, losing to Dublin after a replay. Kerry also won a National League title under his stewardship in 2020 and again in 2021 (the latter jointly won with Dublin). In the two Covid-interrupted championship campaigns, Kerry suffered surprise defeats, to Cork in 2020 and to Tyrone in the 2021 semi-final.