Brian Cody's Kilkenny reign has been extended into a 24th season after it was confirmed he would lead the county's senior hurlers in 2022.

Kilkenny GAA have confirmed that Cody had been ratified as senior hurling manager for 2022 at a meeting of the county board this evening, with Derek Lyng and Niall Bergin taking charge of the Under-20 and Under-17 teams respectively.

Cody guided Kilkenny to the 17th Leinster title of his long reign in charge but progression to the All-Ireland final eluded them for the second year running, after a five-point extra-time loss to Cork in the semi-final.

Kilkenny have won 11 All-Ireland titles during the Cody era but haven't won Liam MacCarthy since 2015, equalling the barren spell that he himself succeeded in ending in 2000.