Former Waterford captain Stephen Molumphy is to succeed Fintan O'Connor as Kerry hurling manager on a two-year term.

Molumphy's appointment has been proposed by the Kerry GAA executive and will be forwarded to the county delegates for ratification at the end of September.

The Ballyduff Upper clubman hurled for Waterford for nine years, winning two Munster titles in 2007 and 2010, earning an All-Star at left-half forward in '07. During his career, he played in one All-Ireland final, in 2008.

He served as a selector with Wexford under Davy Fitzgerald in 2019, when the county captured their first Leinster title in 15 years.

In 2020, he was part of Liam Cahill's backroom team in Waterford, when they reached the All-Ireland final, losing to Limerick.

In Kerry, he will be joined by Pat Bennett and Shane Briggs as selectors.

Kerry have lost two successive Joe McDonagh Cup finals, losing to Antrim in 2020 and Westmeath in 2021, with Molumphy charged with taking them one step better in 2022.