Saturday 31 July

Tipperary v Waterford, Páirc Uí Chaoimh, 1.30pm
Dublin v Cork, Semple Stadium, 7pm


Live blog on RTÉ Sport Online and RTÉ News Now app


Tipperary v Waterford screened live on RTÉ One and RTÉ Player from 1pm; Cork v Dublin broadcast on Sky Sports Arena from 6pm


Live commentary on Saturday Sport on RTÉ Radio 1.


Páirc Uí Chaoimh can accommodate 7,000 spectators for Tipperary-Waterford, while 4,400 will be allowed into Semple Stadium for Dublin-Cork meeting


Today will begin mostly cloudy with just occasional bright spells and isolated light showers developing. Showers will become more frequent during the afternoon before easing as some good evening sunny spells develop. For more, visit

We need your consent to load this YouTube contentWe use YouTube to manage extra content that can set cookies on your device and collect data about your activity. Please review their details and accept them to load the content.Manage Preferences

Tipp reeling from Munster loss, Waterford coursing with momentum

Their respective efforts against Clare would lead one to assume what the traditionalists would take for granted - that Tipperary are favourites here.

However, Waterford, with Jamie Barron and Conor Prunty back in the side, are coursing with momentum after last weekend, while Tipp may still be shell-shocked by their second-half implosion in the Munster final.

Waterford have lost just once in the championship against Galway - sadly for them, that happened to be the only All-Ireland final meeting between the sides - and the sight of the Tribesmen has somehow usually proved a welcome pick-me-up for the Déise after a Munster exit.

Billy Power racing away from Adrian Touhey

They rediscovered their 2020 rhythm against Galway, attacking with breakneck speed, with men constantly running off the shoulder.

Happily for Liam Cahill, the wides which blighted their narrow win over Laois disappeared entirely in the first half the last day as shots were being zinged over the bar from all angles.

In Tipp, they face a team who, like Galway, are also perceived to be lacking in pace. At half-time in the Munster final, Liam Sheedy's team were being hastily installed as All-Ireland favourites. By full-time, this was being reversed dramatically.

Leading by 10 at the break, they lost the second half 2-17 to 1-05. Once again, the talk was of ageing team in need of renewal and fresh legs.

Sheedy delivered a bracing assessment afterwards, using the word "destroyed" in reference to the third quarter.

"If we play like we did in that first half, I think we'll have a chance against any opposition. If we play like we did in the second, we'll be out of the championship. It's that simple," the Tipp manager said afterwards.

Waterford without Gleeson

Waterford will be without Conor Gleeson this Saturday, the defender having been landed with a one-match ban for "striking with minimum force" after slapping out at Joe Canning on the stroke of half-time. Referee Sean Stack waited until Gleeson emerged from the tunnel for the second half before brandishing the red card. Shane McNulty replaces the Fourmilewater player at corner-back.

Tipperary have also made one change, Paddy Cadell starting at right-wing back instead of Seamus Kennedy.

Last five championship meetings:
2019: Tipperary 2-30 Waterford 0-18 (Munster SHC)
2018: Waterford 2-22 Tipperary 2-22 (Munster SHC)
2016: Tipperary 5-19 Waterford 0-13 (Munster final)
2015: Tipperary 0-21 Waterford 0-16 (Munster final)
2012: Tipperary 2-17 Waterford 0-16 (Munster final)


Tipperary: Brian Hogan; Cathal Barrett, Padraic Maher, Barry Heffernan; Paddy Cadell, Brendan Maher, Ronan Maher; Alan Flynn, Michael Breen; Jason Forde, Noel McGrath, Dan McCormack; Jake Morris, John O'Dwyer, Seamus Callanan.

Waterford: Shaun O'Brien; Ian Kenny, Conor Prunty, Shane McNulty; Calum Lyons, Shane Bennett, Kieran Bennett; Jamie Barron, Peter Hogan; Jack Fagan, Jack Prendergast, Stephen Bennett; Dessie Hutchinson, Austin Gleeson, Patrick Curran.

Dublin hoping to end wretched record against Cork

Dublin hurling, after an underwhelming league performance, was suddenly in buoyant mood after the unexpected Leinster semi-final success.

Their provincial final tilt was brutally undermined by Covid related issues - one positive case within the squad and three close contacts - and after a spirited effort in the first half, they were unable to keep pace with Kilkenny's remorseless workrate in the second.

Mattie Kenny speaking to the media after the Leinster final

The not entirely surprising loss to injury of full-back colossus Eoghan O'Donnell in the early minutes was another hammer blow to their chances.

While the four players caught up in the Covid issue are back for Saturday, O'Donnell misses out and is replaced by Cian O'Callaghan. Ronan Hayes also comes in for Mark Schutte.

Arguably, their semi-final win has since been placed in further context by Galway's dismal first 55 minutes against Waterford in Thurles.

But their defensive effort on the day was superb - particularly Liam Rushe at centre-back - while their goal was beautifully worked, lashed home by Chris Crummey.

They've only beaten Cork twice in the championship and we're drawing close to a century since the most recent of those, in 1927.

Cork, no matter the state they're in, have typically been able to get over Dublin. Neither 2016 nor 2020 were vintage campaigns for Cork but they still incorporated knockout wins over the capital.

The win over a Clare outfit who'd built up a nice head of steam could prove a landmark one for Kieran Kingston's side.

They aggravated the purists in the league with their occasionally extreme adherence to a short-passing game, which caused many to point to the influence of the returning Donal O'Grady in their backroom team.

Robbie O'Flynn and Alan Cadogan scrapping for possession against Paul Flanagan

However, their intelligent use of the ball was in evidence last Saturday, no more so than when Seamus Harnedy eschewed an easy point, instead popping a pass to Shane Barrett who drilled home a decisive goal.

Cork, in Donal Óg Cusack's estimation, "are getting a lot more diligent in the basic grammar of the game, like attackers defending when they should be", a nod to previous years when Cork's forwards were often accused of being deficient in the workrate department.

Conor Cahalane comes in for Alan Cadogan at right half-forward in Cork's only change from the Clare game.

Last five championship meetings:
2020: Cork 1-25 Dublin 0-22 (All-Ire qualifier)
2016: Cork 1-26 Dublin 1-23 (All-Ire qualifier)
2013: Cork 1-24 Dublin 1-19 (All-Ire SF)
2008: Cork 1-17 Dublin 0-15 (All-Ire qualifier)
2007: Cork 3-20 Dublin 0-15 (All-Ire qualifier)


Dublin: Alan Nolan; Andrew Dunphy, Paddy Smyth, Cian O'Callaghan; Daire Gray, Liam Rushe, James Madden; Rian McBride, Conor Burke; Danny Sutcliffe, Donal Burke, Chris Crummey; Cian Boland, Ronan Hayes, Cian O'Sullivan.

Cork: Patrick Collins; Niall O'Leary, Robert Downey, Sean O’Donoghue; Tim O’Mahony, Mark Coleman, Ger Millerick; Darragh Fitzgibbon, Luke Meade; Conor Cahalane, Seamus Harnedy, Robbie O’Flynn; Jack O’Connor, Shane Kingston, Patrick Horgan.

Follow all the championship matches this weekend with our live blogs on RTÉ.ie/sport and the RTÉ News app.

Watch Tipperary v Waterford live on RTÉ One or RTÉ Player from 1pm Saturday, and Monaghan v Tyrone live on RTÉ2 or RTÉ Player from 3.30pm. Dublin v Kildare is on RTÉ2/Player from 3.30pm Sunday.

Watch highlights of all the weekend's action on The Sunday Game at 9.30pm on RTÉ2.

Listen to live and exclusive national radio commentaries on RTÉ Radio 1's Saturday and Sunday Sport.