Holders Tipperary were over-run by a rampant Kerry outfit in the Munster senior football semi-final at Semple Stadium on Saturday evening.

Relegated to Division Four of the National League, Tipp's championship fate was sealed as early as the first water break at which stage Kerry had pushed clear 1-4 to 0-1.

David Clifford got the Kerry goal after 14 minutes when he blasted home from Gavin White’s pass.


Conor Sweeney raised Tipperary hopes when he converted a penalty in the 27th minute after Jack Kennedy was pulled down going through.

The setback did not disrupt Kerry's mastery. David Moran was a towering figure at midfield and Sean O'Shea deadly accurate from placed balls as they surged to an interval lead of 1-11 to 1-3.

Kerry continued to call the shots in the third quarter and Tipperary’s cause was not helped when Michael Quinlivan was red-carded in the 49th minute for a foul on Gavin Crowley.

The second water break saw Kerry coasting, 1-15 to 1-6 ahead.

Kerry manager Peter Keane speaks to the media after his side's impressive win.

Kerry used their bench in the last quarter with sub Killian Spillane particularly impressive, scoring three points as they ran out very comfortable winners by 11 points. Kerry did have Tadhg Morley blackcarded late on after Tipp’s Jason Lonergan had suffered a similar fate.

Kerry’s pursuit of provincial and national honours stays on track. David Moran, Tom O'Sullivan, Diarmuid O'Connor, Sean O'Shea and David Clifford were their key players but a stiffer test awaits them in the Munster final against old rivals Cork

Tipp’s determination was not enough to halt the Kerry charge despite the best efforts of Jack Kennedy, Conor Sweeney, Kevin Fahey, and Jimmy Feehan.

Kerry: S Ryan; B O Beaglaoich, J Foley, T O Sullivan (0-2); M Breen, G Crowley, G White; D Moran (0-1), D O'Connor (0-1); S O Brien, S O Shea (0-8, 6f), P Geaney (0-1); D Clifford (1-2, 0-1f), M Burns, P Clifford (0-1).
Subs: P Murphy for Breen, T Walsh for Burns, K Spillane (0-3) for Geaney, J Barry for D Clifford, T Morley for G White.

Tipperary: E Comerford; S O Connell, J Feehan, C O Shaughnessy; B Maher, K Fahey (0-1), R Kiely; J Kennedy (0-3, 2f), Conal Kennedy; E Moloney, C Bowe, P Looram; B Fox, C Sweeney (1-4, 1-0pen, 0-3f), M Quinlivan.
Subs: J Lonergan for Moloney, P Feehan for Looram, S O'Brien for Bowe, S Foley for O Shaughnessy, J Harney for Kiely, Colman Kennedy for C Kennedy.

Ref: N Cullen (Fermanagh).