Munster champions Tipperary got themselves back in the frame for promotion with a tense win over Wicklow at Semple Stadium.

Tipperary opened well and with Wicklow losing J P Hurley to a black card after six minutes, the home side went 0-04 to 0-01 clear.

However, Wicklow steadied and were level at 0-4 each by the water break.

Wicklow, back at full strength, now had an edge and opened a two-point lead but in the 31st minute Conor Sweeney netted after good work by Brian Fox, and at the interval the sides were level at 1-04 to 0-07.

The sides were still level after 50 minutes when Philip Ryan slipped through for a Tipp goal, followed immediately by a Stephen O Brien point and at the second water break they led 2-07 to 0-09.

Tipperary were 2-10 to 0-11 ahead in the 64th minute when they had Emmet Moloney dismissed for a second yellow card but they stayed in control.

Tipperary's Jimmy Feehan was black-carded in the sixth minute of added time and Seanie Furlong netted the resulting penalty but it was too late for the Leinster men.

Tipperary face a crucial visit to unbeaten Offaly next week. Stephen O'Brien, Conal Kennedy, Conor Sweeney, and Jimmy Feehan were their key men.

Wicklow are facing a relegation battle after two losses but Seanie Furlong, Mark Kenny, Nicky Devereux, and Dean Healy tried very hard to tip the scales in their favour.

Tipperary: M O’Reilly; A Campbell, J Feehan, C O’Shaughnessy; E Moloney, P Feehan, C Bowe; S O’Brien (0-03), Conal Kennedy (0-01); J Lonergan, Colman Kennedy, B Fox; P Ryan (1-00), C Sweeney (1-03, 2f), S O’Connor (0-05, 4f).

Subs: J Harney for O’Shaughnessy (28), J Kennedy for Loneregan (ht), L Boland for Colman Kennedy (43), P Looram for Fox (43), S Foley for P Feehan (53), T Fitzgerald for Ryan (67), R Quigley for O’Connor (67).

Wicklow: M Jackson (0-03, 3f); N Devereux, R O’Brien, O Manning; A Maher (0-01), N Donnelly (0-01), D Devereux; P O’Toole (0-01), D Healy; D Fitzgerald, M Kenny (0-01), C Byrne; E Darcy (0-03, 1f), S Furlong (1-02, 1f), J P Hurley.

Subs: K Quinn for Maher (24), D Keane for Fitzgerald (46), P O’Connor for Hurley (52), C O’Brien for O’Toole (63), J Snell for O’Brien (63), E Murtagh for D Devereux (68), C McGee for Darcy (68).

Ref: S Mulvihill (Kerry).