Ace marksman Jason Forde pointed a free for Tipperary from inside his own 65 to earn the Premier County a draw with Cork in a keenly fought National Hurling League tie at Semple Stadium..

It was a fitting outcome to a contest that both sides looked like winning at different stages.

The most significant score in a modest first half was a Tim O'Mahoney goal for Cork after 10 minutes.

It put his side ahead 1-03 to 0-04 after Tipp had opened in lively fashion but by the water break parity prevailed at 1-03 to 0-06.

There was little change by half-time with Forde's accuracy from frees (six in total) giving Tipp a slight advantage at the interval.

Patrick Horgan pounced for a Cork goal after Cathal Barrett lost possession for Tipp in the 43rd minute and they held a 2-10 to 0-15 lead at the second water break.

Points by Conor Cahalane and Alan Cadogan at the start of the last quarter put Cork in a winning position but Tipperary were always on their tails and were duly rewarded when in the fifth minute of added time Forde landed a mighty free to earn Tipp their second draw in the competition.

Forde was again Tipp's top marksman with Barry Heffernan, Noel McGrath, John McGrath, Cathal Barrett and Padraic Maher also doing well.

Horgan took top honours for Cork with sub Conor Cahalane making a big impression when introduced.

Mark Coleman, named man of the match, and Alan Cadogan were others to do well.

Coleman - We let it slip but positives for Cork

Tipperary: Barry Hogan; C Barrett (0-01), B McGrath (0-01), B Heffernan (0-02); Padraic Maher, S Kennedy, R Maher (0-01); A Flynn, N McGrath (0-02); J Morris (0-01), J Forde (0-10, 10f), N O Meara; J O Dwyer (0-01), J McGrath (0-02), W Connors.

Subs: M Breen for Flynn (39), P Flynn (0-01) for O Meara (43), Patrick Maher for O Dwyer (54), P Cadell for N McGrath (54), B Maher for Connors (59), D Quirke for Morris(64mins);

Cork: P Collins; N O Leary, D Cahalane, S O Leary-Hayes; R Downey, M Coleman, N Cashman; B Hennessy, T O Mahoney (1-01); R O Flynn (0-01), J O Connor, D Fitzgibbon; P Horgan (1-06, 0-05f), A Cadogan (0-03), L Meade.

Subs: C Cahalane (0-03) for O Flynn (27), D Connery (0-01) for Cashman (44), E Cadogan for Downey (54), T Deasy for O Connor (54), S O Donoghue for O Leary-Hayes (58), A Connolly (0-01) for A Cadogan (58), S Twomey for Meade (74);

Referee: J Murphy (Limerick)