Roscommon won the Connacht Minor Football Championship after a three-point victory over Sligo in horrendous conditions in Claremorris.

In a game hugely affected by driving wind and rain, Sligo failed to scored for nearly all of the 60 minutes and notched their 1-02 tally in the closing stages of normal time.

The Rossies led by four points at the break as Oisin Cregg and Conor Hand scored from play, while Eoin Colleran and Hand converted from frees.

The second half was set up for a Yeats County fightback as they had the wind advantage, if such thing existed, but for a long time it did not look like materialising.

The first score of the second period was a crucial one as Roscommon found the net through Shane Walsh from close range.

Hand then fired off the point of the day with a fine kick and Sligo finally troubled the scoreboard with five minutes remaining through a point from Canice Mulligan.

Simon McKeon followed that up with a point of his own and then Dylan Walsh's long-range free found its way into the net as the 60-minute mark was reached.

Roscommon survived three minutes of injury-time to win 1-05 to 1-02 in a game which offered a reminder why late December is not an optimum time for concluding competitions at any level.