Monaghan v Tipperary, Parnell Park, (Friday) 

Tipperary lost out by just a single point against Galway last weekend – and that looks like a fatal blow in Championship 2020.  

Aishling Moloney scored 1-10 of Tipp's 1-14 but even that individual brilliance wasn’t enough to prevent defeat, as 2019 runners-up Galway put themselves within touching distance of the semi-finals with a slender one-point win.  

It would take an unlikely sequence of events for Tipp to make the last four now – and Monaghan will present tough opposition.  

Victory for the Farney County, who are looking ahead to their first Championship outing of the season, would set up a winner-takes-all clash with Galway next weekend.  

Monaghan had a 1-11 haul from Louise Kerley against Westmeath last year to avoid relegation in a play-off – and she’s listed at right corner forward.  

Monaghan (v Tipperary): E Corrigan; A Newell, J Duffy, A McAnespie; R Courtney, A McCarey, N Fahy; M Atkinson, L McEnaney; C Courtney (capt.), E McCarron, S Coyle; L Kerley, C McAnespie, C Treanor.  

Tipperary (v Monaghan): L Fitzpatrick; C Davey, L Spillane, E Cronin; E Moore, S Lambert (capt.), M Curley; A McCarthy, A.R. Kennedy; C Kennedy, E Morrissey, L Dillon; A Fennessy, A Moloney, R Howard.  

Cork v Kerry,  Austin Stack Park, Tralee (Saturday)

This one is set up to be a potential classic. With experienced Louise Ní Mhuircheartaigh and teenage sidekick Síofra O’Shea in excellent scoring form last Sunday, Kerry opened their campaign by knocking 5-14 past Cavan.  

Now, the Kingdom can book their place in the semi-finals with victory against Munster rivals Cork in Tralee.  

Kerry won the toss for home advantage and they’ll look to make that count against a Cork side coming in cold.

But the Rebelettes won the Munster title in 2019 and progressed to an All-Ireland semi-final, where they fell to Dublin.  

Cork boss Ephie Fitzgerald has named 12 of the team that started at Croke Park in August 2019 for their first championship outing this year.  

Cork (v Kerry): M O’Brien; A Kelleher, R Phelan, E Meaney; M Duggan, S Kelly, A Hutchings; M O’Callaghan, H Looney; O Farmer, C O’Sullivan, O Finn; Á O’Sullivan, D O’Sullivan (capt.), S Noonan.  

Kerry (v Cork): C Butler; A Doherty, A Desmond, S Murphy; N Carmody, A O’Connell, C Murphy; L Scanlon, M O’Connell; N Ní Chonchúir, A Murphy, A Galvin (capt.); H O’Donoghue, S O’Shea, L Ní Mhuircheartaigh.  

Waterford v Dublin, Baltinglass (Saturday)

When these sides met in the 2019 Championship in Portlaoise, Dublin enjoyed a 5-15 to 2-6 victory.  

The Sky Blues, chasing a fourth successive Senior crown, needed the help of a freakish Sinead Aherne goal to get past Donegal in last weekend’s opening fixture, but they have a tough hour under their belts now.  

Waterford, in contrast, are coming in cold for their first Championship outing of the season, and they couldn’t have asked for a tougher start.  

A win for Dublin would see them through to the semi-finals, and that would result in a dead rubber clash for Waterford and Donegal in Round 3.  

Dublin boss Mick Bohan is resting All Stars Sinead Goldrick and Siobhan McGrath, the 2019 TG4 Senior Players’ Player of the Year, with Orlagh Nolan and Caoimhe O’Connor starting.  

For Waterford, inter-county life without Michelle Ryan, now a TG4 analyst after almost two decades in the county shirt, begins with a daunting assignment but there’s still plenty of big-game experience in the Déise ranks.  

Waterford (v Dublin): R Landers; M Dunford, R Casey, R Dunphy; A Mullaney, K McGrath (capt.), M Wall; E Murray, L Devine; C Fennell, K Murray, A Murray; A Wall, M.K. Curran, R Tobin.

Dublin (v Waterford): C Trant; M Byrne, N Collins, O Nolan; A Kane, L Caffrey, L Magee; J Dunne, N McEvoy; N Healy, L Davey, C Rowe; S McCaffrey, S Aherne (capt.), C O’Connor.  

Mayo v Tyrone, Páirc Seán Mac Diarmada, Carrick-on-Shannon (Saturday)

Tyrone will be hoping to pick themselves up off the floor after leaking 6-16 against Armagh last Friday night.  

For Mayo, it’s their bow in Championship 2020 and Peter Leahy’s 2019 semi-finalists are a team to keep a close eye on.  

They have potent scoring power in attack but Tyrone did manage 3-13 themselves in defeat to Armagh.  

Tyrone will also be encouraged by the fact that they ran Mayo to just three points when the sides met in last year’s Championship.  

Mayo have named 9 of the team that started against Galway in last year’s semi-final, when a late Róisín Leonard free broke green and red hearts. Tyrone have switched goalkeepers, meanwhile, with Laura Kane starting ahead of Shannon Lynch.  

Mayo (v Tyrone): L Brennan; S Lally, R Durkin, Ciara McManamon; É Ronayne, D Finn, E Brennan; A Gilroy, Clodagh McManamon; G Kelly, S Cafferky (capt.), S Rowe; M Reilly, R Kearns, T O’Connor.  

Tyrone (v Mayo): L Kane; C Hunter, E Mulgrew, C Conway; T McLaughlin, N Woods (capt.), N McGirr; M Mallon, A McHugh; N Hughes, E Brennan, D Gallagher; N O’Neill, G Rafferty, C McCaffrey.