Na Piarsaigh 5-27 Doon 1-12

Na Piarsaigh have been crowned Limerick senior champions for the sixth time in ten years after they saw off Doon in LIT Gaelic Grounds.

In what was a repeat of the 2018 final, Na Piarsaigh led 1-12 to 0-09 at half-time thanks to a superbly taken David Dempsey goal – a move started off by the impressive Peter Casey.

Casey top-scored for the winners with 2-05 - all from play - while man-of-the-match Dempsey also got two goals for the newly-crowned county champions.

The better side from the get-go, a clinical Na Piarsaigh side were certainly worthy of their 27-point margin of victory. Despite missing Limerick star Shane Dowling and Kevin Downes, the men in light blue were always on top.

Doon, again missing their talisman Richie English and Darragh O'Donovan, struggled against their in-form opponents.

Peter Casey top-scored with 2-05 from play

Both sides exchanged two points apiece during a lively opening five minutes. 

The pendulum swung Na Piarsaigh's way on ten minutes as they hit five points without reply with Casey scoring three in a row and Henn getting in on the action before Casey put four between the sides.

And with half-time fast approaching, Dempsey linked up well with Casey before finding the back of the net.  

A second Dempsey goal – minutes after the restart – put Kieran Bermingham’s side nine points ahead.

Doon weren't for giving up and were rewarded for their efforts when Barry Murphy’s well-placed penalty narrowed the deficit to seven, after Josh Ryan was fouled.

But Na Piarsaigh upped the tempo and Henn kept the distance between the teams with a flawless free taking performance.

The result was put beyond doubt when Casey grabbed his first of two goals, with 15 points now between the sides.

Further goals from Casey and Breen in the dying moments ensured Na Piarsaigh romped to another Limerick club hurling title – their sixth Daly Cup title since 2011.

The Na Piarsaigh players celebrate their success

Na Piarsaigh: P Kennedy; K Kennedy, M Casey, C King; J Boylan (0-02), R Lynch (0-04, 3f, 1 '65’), A Dempsey; T Grimes (0-01), W O’Donoghue; A McNamara, D Dempsey (2-02), A Breen (1-03); P Casey (2-04), C Boylan (0-01), W Henn (0-08, 7f, 1 '65).

Subs: M Foley for A Dempsey (52), N Buckley for K Kennedy (54), J O’Brien (0-02, 2f) for R Lynch (54).

Doon: E McNamara; C Thomas, E Fitzgibbon, T Hayes; C Ryan (0-03, 3f), M O’Brien, J Cummins (0-01); M Ryan, Josh Ryan (0-02); D Moloney (0-02), P Ryan, B Murphy (1-04, 3f, 1-00 penalty, 1 ‘65); E Stokes, D Stapleton, Jack Ryan.

Subs: D Coleman for M Ryan (28), P Cummins for D Stapleton (ht), N Maher for D Moloney (52).

Referee: Johnny Murphy (Ballylanders).