Borris-Ileigh 1-28 Drom-Inch 4-19 

(After extra-time - Drom-Inch win 3-1 on penalties)

Drom-Inch ended local rivals Borris-Ileigh's reign as Tipperary SHC champions with a dramatic penalty shootout win at Semple Stadium.

Brendan Maher saw his penalty saved by goalkeeper Eoin Collins as Drom booked a semi-final date with Kiladangan.

It was cruel on Maher, who forced extra-time with a pointed free in the seventh minute of added time and top-scored with 0-12.

David Butler came off the bench to score two goals

Borris actually led by five points towards the end of a crazy second half when JD Devaney found the net.

But they ended up requiring a late point from Maher after Seamus Callanan and substitute David Butler both found the net in the space of three minutes – 1-22 to 3-16 the score at the end of normal time.

Butler pounced for a second goal four minutes into the second period of extra-time to put Drom two points in front, but scores from Maher and Dan McCormack left the teams heading for a penalty shootout.

Brendan Maher's penalty was saved by Collins

David Collins and Callanan both found the net for Drom, either side of Conor Kenny firing wide, and Borris were in trouble when Kevin Maher’s shot was saved by Collins.

Jerry Kelly netted Borris’ only goal in the shootout, making the score 2-1 after Johnny Ryan had missed.

However, Butler found the net with his effort and Collins’ save from Maher sealed a gripping victory.