Last year's beaten All-Ireland finalists Borris-Ileigh started the defence of their Tipperary title with a draw against Toomevara at Nenagh.

It took at a late free from Joey McLoughney for Toomevara to earn the draw on a scoreline of 0-21 to 1-18.

In the same group, Upperchurch beat Burgess by 0-21 to 0-16 at Dolla.

In Group 2, Nenagh Éire Óg overcame Holycross by 1-19 to 0-11, while Clonoulty/Rossmore beat Éire Óg Annacarty/Donohill with a margin of 2-18 to 0-16.

Across the border in Clare, Tony Kelly hit seven points as 2017 All-Ireland finalists Ballyea overcame Crusheen at Cusack Park.

Elsewhere in Munster, Mount Sion's quest for a first Waterford title since 2006 started with a 1-19 to 1-13 win over Clonea.

Stephen Roche's late goal made the result safe, with Aussie Gleeson contributing 0-8 points to their total in the Group B clash at Walsh Park.

Fourmilewater were never behind against Dungarvan, leading by seven at half-time, and four with a quarter of an hour to go after a Gavin Crotty goal.

They were holding on by the end though, as it finished 0-21 to 1-17.

The Cannings, Joe and Jack, both saw the line this afternoon

Moving west, Sarsfields were big winners over Portumna in Galway on a scoreline of 4-22 to 0-18. Joe Canning and his nephew Jack Canning were both sent off for the vanquished side.

Staying in Galway, Cappataggle overcame Tynagh Abbey Duniry by 4-16 to 2-14, while Oranmore/Maree were 1-17 to 0-19 point winners over Clarinbridge.

In Derry, Slaughtneil's bid for an eighth county title in-a-row saw them emerge convincing 6-26 to 1-11 winners over Ballinascreen, while defending champions Clonkill beat Raharney in Westmeath by 1-17 to 0-09 in a repeat of the 2018 county final. 


In Cork, Castelhaven put in a big second-half performance to secure a five-point victory against Carbery Rangers.

The game had been level at break, but the Haven were able to pull away to win by 0-14 to 0-09.

At Tullamore, Shamrocks turned a six-point half-time deficit into a 1-15 to 2-11 victory against Bracknagh.

Paddy Dunican's three-pointer got them back into the contest shortly after the break, and despite a goal each for the Cunningham brothers - Mikey and Anthony - the tri-parish club held out.

In Wicklow, St Patrick's were comfortable 1-18 to 0-11 winners over Newtown - Tommy Kelly with the goal for the town team.

Arklow Geraldines brought Bray Emmets back down to earth after their impressive victory against Rathnew the first day. The south Wicklow club emerged 2-7 to 0-09 winners after two Cathal Kelleher goals gave them the dream start.

County teammates but club rivals - Conor McManus (Clontibret) and Drew Wylie (Ballybay)

Moving north, Conor McManus missed a late free as defending champions Clontibret drew their Monaghan Group 1 clash with Ballybay on a scoreline of 1-9 apiece.

Elsewhere in the Farney County, Inniskeen Grattans couldn't make home advantage count as they lost by 2-09 to 1-11 against Magheracloone Mitchells this evening.

In Roscommon, Pádraig Pearses struck late to earn a 2-10 to 3-07 draw against Boyle - the defending champions trailed by 12 points at one stage in the second-half.

While Lámh Dhearg beat Naomh Eoin by 1-11 to 0-11 in Antrim. 


Antrim SFC

Lámh Dhearg 1-11 Naomh Eoin 0-11

Cork SFC

Castlehaven 0-14 Carbery Rangers 0-09

Monaghan SFC

Ballybay 1-9 Contibret 1-9

Magheracloone 2-09 Inniskeen Grattans 1-11

Offaly SFC

Shamrocks 1-15 Bracknagh 2-11

Roscommon SFC

Pádraig Pearses 2-10 Boyle 3-7

Wicklow SFC

Arklow Geraldines 2-7 Bray Emmets 0-09

St Patrick's, Wicklow 1-18 Newtown 0-11


Clare SHC

Ballyea 0-16 Crusheen 0-14

Derry SHC

Slaughtneill 6-26 Ballinascreen 2-11

Galway SHC

Cappataggle 4-16 Tynagh Abbey Duniry 2-14

Oranmore/Maree 1-17 Clarinbridge 0-19

Sarsfields 4-22 Portumna 0-18

Tipperary SHC

Borris-Ileigh 0-21 Toomevara 1-18

Upperchurch 0-21 Burgess 0-16

Nenagh Éire Óg 1-19 Holycross 0-11

Clonoulty/Rossmore 2-18 Éire Óg Annacarty/Donohill 0-16

Waterford SHC

Mount Sion 1-19 Clonea 1-13

Fourmilewater 0-21 Dungarvan 1-17

Westmeath SHC

Clonkill 1-17 Raharney 0-09