The three candidates to become the 13th different President of the Ladies Gaelic Football Association (LGFA) since its inception in 1974 have been revealed.

Delegates attending next weekend's LGFA Annual Congress in Galway will vote on who will take over from Marie Hickey in 2021. The winner of the vote will serve a four-year term.

Two Sligo men are contesting the position, Micheál Naughton and Liam McDonagh, with Dublin native Dominic Leech also in the running.

Laois native Hickey will complete her second three-year stint before handing over the reins to the new President at Annual Congress next year.

Westmeath’s Geraldine Giles also served for two terms as President from 2003-2009, while Wexford’s Pat Quill was President of the LGFA for three terms (1985-1988, 2009-2012 and 2012-2015).

Hailing from West Sligo, but based in Donegal for over 22 years, Naughton is a former Donegal and Ulster Council Chairman who also managed the Donegal Ladies senior football team.

Affiliated to the Four Masters club, Naughton guided Donegal to the 2010 TG4 All-Ireland Intermediate crown during his first stint in charge, before returning to preside over a 2016 Lidl National League Division 2 title win.

Liam McDonagh is also a native of Sligo, and he has been a member of the St Nathy’s club in the county since its inception in 1993.

A two-time TG4 All-Ireland final referee (junior 2003, intermediate 2007) McDonagh has filled various administrative roles in Sligo, including chairperson, and he was Connacht LGFA President from 2017-2020.

From Dublin’s northside, Dominic Leech is the current Leinster LGFA President, and he was manager of the Wicklow team that won the 2011 TG4 All-Ireland Junior Championship.

Leech’s home club is Whitehall Colmcilles in Dublin. His current club is Newtownmountkennedy in Wicklow, where he’s actively involved.

The LGFA’s 2020 Annual Congress gets underway on Friday evening, and is expected to conclude on Saturday evening.