Captain Michael Murphy was among the goals as Donegal spoiled Meath's homecoming party in Navan to secure their own first win of the Allianz football league Division 1 campaign.

Trailing by three points after a slow start, the back to back Ulster champions reeled off three goals between the 28th and 39th minutes to break Meath's brittle challenge.

It was Meath's first home game in Division 1 since 2006 and they were on top for the first 20 minutes but were soon overwhelmed and slipped to back to back defeats in the campaign.

Odhran McFadden Ferry, captain Murphy and Michael Langan grabbed the goals for Donegal who were only denied an opening day win by a 78th minute equalising goal from Mayo last weekend.

Declan Bonner's men will fancy their chances against Galway in Letterkenny next Sunday but Meath will feel their home game against Mayo on the same afternoon is already a must win encounter as they seek to avoid an immediate return to Division 2.

Andy McEntee's Meath, beaten by Donegal three times in 2019, were clearly energised by the occasion of their first Division 1 game in Navan in 14 years and initially enjoyed the upper hand, opening up a 0-04 to 0-01 lead.

Thomas O'Reilly hit Meath's first Division 1 point of the season at Pairc Tailteann when he turned smartly to slip away from Neil McGee.

Corner-back David Toner boomed one over from outside the 45 and both Cillian O'Sullivan and Bryan McMahon converted frees to leave the hosts sitting pretty with that three-point lead.

There was a further boost to Meath's momentum when goalkeeper Marcus Brennan denied Murphy from the penalty spot in the 16th minute, getting down low to his right corner.

Brennan, goalkeeper for Meath in the 2002 All-Ireland minor final, became Meath's third 'keeper in two games following the use of both Dominic Yorke and Barry Dardis in the Round 1 loss to Tyrone.

Meath supporters urged their team to push on but they couldn't and didn't score again until the 40th minute as Donegal finally found their range to take charge of proceedings.

Ciaran Thompson converted a free before McFadden Ferry netted in the 28th minute to put Donegal ahead for the first time, 1-02 to 0-04.

It was a rifled finish from the Gweedore man who blasted in from the left after a lengthy passing move that eventually came to a stunning climax.

Two minutes before the break, Murphy presided over another penalty after Jamie Brennan, who'd won the earlier penalty also, was fouled again.

Murphy went to the same side again, the goalkeeper's right, but Brennan went to the other side and net bulged, handing Donegal a 2-02 to 0-04 half-time lead.

To add to Meath's difficulties, full-back Conor McGill was black carded for the foul on Brennan and sin-binned for 10 minutes.

Donegal's third goal arrived in the 39th minute and was the pick of the bunch as Ryan McHugh this time got clear down the left, dummied his way past McMahon, and put the ball across for the onrushing Langan to palm in.

Brennan and Hugh McFadden added points and with a 3-03 to 0-04 lead now, Donegal were in a position to coast home.

Brennan and Langan added points to keep them well in command and the 2012 All-Ireland winners closed it out with scores from sub Niall O'Donnell and Murphy to secure a deserved 10-point win.

Donegal: Shaun Patton; Eoin Ban Gallagher, Neil McGee, Odhran McFadden Ferry (1-00); Caolan Ward, Conor O'Donnell, Eoin McHugh; Hugh McFadden (0-01), Michael Langan (1-01); Paul Brennan, Ryan McHugh, Ciaran Thompson (0-01, 0-01f); Peadar Mogan, Michael Murphy (1-02, 1-00 pen, 0-02f), Jamie Brennan (0-02).

Subs: Andrew McClean for E McHugh (50), Niall O'Donnell (0-01) for Mogan (55), Brendan McCole for McFadden Ferry (55), Jeaic McKelvey for McFadden (67), Ciaran Diver for P Brennan (71).

Meath: Marcus Brennan; Robin Clarke, Conor McGill, David Toner (0-01); James McEntee, Brian Conlon, Donal Keogan; Bryan Menton, Ronan Jones; Mathew Costello, Bryan McMahon (0-01, 0-01f), Eamon Wallace; Cillian O'Sullivan (0-02, 0-02f), Thomas O'Reilly (0-03), Joey Wallace.

Subs: Ben Brennan for Costello (h/t), Ethan Devine for E Wallace (48), Ronan Ryan for Conlon (55), Sean Tobin for J Wallace (62), James Conlon for McMahon (62).

Referee: Conor Lane (Cork).