Michael Duignan has been elected as the new chairman of Offaly GAA.

The decision was made at the county convention in Tullamore on Tuesday night, with the former county hurler defeating incumbent Tommy Byrne by 76 votes to 62.

Byrne served two terms as chairman, but did not get the required support to carry out the role for a third time.

"I'm very humbled and honoured to be elected as chairman of Offaly GAA," said Duignan, who also praised Byrne for his "dedication and commitment".

"I just now want to unite Offaly GAA after this challenging campaign."

On the field, Duignan was part of the great Offaly team that won two All-Irelands in the 1990s, as well as five Leinster titles in 11 seasons from 1988 onwards.

He retired from the inter-county game in 2001.

2019 saw the Faithful County's hurlers relegated from the Joe McDonagh Cup, meaning they'll be competing in the the third tier championship next year.

Meanwhile, the footballers, who last won the Leinster title in 1997, will be playing in Division 3 of the Allianz League, meaning that unless they reach a first provincial final since 2006, they will be competing in the new second tier All-Ireland championship.

Duignan has worked as a GAA pundit for RTÉ Sport for over 20 years, starting the job when he was still an inter-county player.

Former inter-county referee and Clara chairman Brian Gavin was elected as a Leinster Council delegate at the convention.