Portlaoise 0-14 Killeshin 2-7

Portlaoise have been crowned Laois SFC champions for the 34th time following their narrow win over first-time finalists Killeshin in O'Moore Park this afternoon.

Portlaoise had to dig very deep to pull through against a Killeshin side that pushed them all the way and even led at a couple of different stages in the second half.

But The Town called on all their collective experience to complete their latest three-in-a-row and win their 12th title in 13 years.

Killeshin struck for an early goal from veteran Cathal Brennan after just two minutes but it was their only score of the half as Portlaoise led 0-5 to 1-0 at the break. 

Killeshin got a dream start to the second half too as Eoin Lowry reduced the gap to one with a nice point and then his younger brother Evan crashed home a spectacular goal to send the Killeshin supporters into raptures. 

Portlaoise dragged themselves back into it with Kieran Lillis, Gareth Dillon and Brian Glynn all hugely influential. 

The exceptional David Aston kept Killeshin in touch but they couldn't force an equaliser and Portlaoise held on. 

Portlaoise: Michael Nolan; Brian Mulligan, Frank Flanagan, David Seale; Chris Finn, Gary Saunders, Gareth Dillon 0-3; Ciaran McEvoy, Kieran Lillis 0-3; Damon Larkin, Conor Boyle 0-1, Brian Glynn 0-3; Brian McCormack 0-3 (one free), Benny Carroll 0-1, Ricky Maher.

Subs: David Holland for Maher (40), Colin Finn for Seale (53), Ronan McEvoy for Glynn (58), Craig Rogers for Larkin (62)

Killeshin: Shane Coakley; Arnie Mahon, Jeremy Mahon, Stephen Attride; Kevin Ryan, Shane Bolger, Mark McDermott; Brian Lowry, Gavin Brennan; David Aston 0-6 (two frees, one '45), Eoin Lowry 0-1, Evan Lowry 1-0; Cathal Brennan 1-0, Michael Doran, Adam Deering.

Subs: Barry Ryan for Deering (41), Ross Bolger for Doran (46), Pauric Bolton for McDermott (49), Luke Attride for B Lowry (54)