Glencar/Manorhamilton 0-16 Ballinamore Sean O'Heslin’s 0-15

An injury-time free from Glencar/Manorhamilton captain Conor Dolan was enough for them to secure victory over Ballinamore Sean O'Heslins in this afternoon’s Leitrim football final in Avantcard Pairc Sean MacDiarmada.

It proved to be an absorbing encounter which was in the balance until the very end, with Dolan’s dramatic intervention arriving five minutes into injury time.

Ballinamore played the entirety of the second half with 14 men following the dismissal of Donal Feely on the stroke of half time for his part in a melee.

Ballinamore, who are the most successful club in Leitrim started the game impressively and enjoyed a 0-05 to 0-01 lead inside six minutes.

Wayne McKeon, Shane Moran, Tom Prior and Luke Murphy were all to the fore for Ballinamore during those opening exchanges but Glencar/Manorhamilton's response was immediate and hugely impressive.

Seven unanswered points saw them take the lead for the first time and they stretched their advantage to three points by the 21st minute.

Evan Sweeney, and Conor Dolan were hugely pivotal for Glencar/Manorhamilton during this period while Darren Sweeney also converted two 45s.

The main talking point of the afternoon arrived five minutes before the interval when a melee involving several players, substitutes and mentors resulted in Donal Feely being shown a red card.

The second half failed to live up to the end to end excitement of the opening 30 minutes but the 14 men of Ballinamore produced a spirited performance that almost saw them force a replay.

Fearghal Rooney and Adrian Croal had extended Glencar/Manorhamilton’s lead to four points but Ballinamore hit back with four successive points to level matters midway through the half.

Pat Gilmartin and a free from Conor Dolan looked to have put Glencar/Manorhamilton back in control but two late, late frees from Luke Murphy saw Ballinamore draw level once more.

However, there was still time for a dramatic winner as Conor Dolan made light work of the difficult angle he was faced with as he converted a free to secure victory and the Leitrim Senior Championship for his team. 

Glencar/Manorhamilton: Anthony McDonald; Thomas McDonald, Fearghal Rooney (0-01), Thomas Coyle, Killian McGriskin, Brian McDonald, Pat Gilmartin (0-01); Darren Sweeney (0-02, 2 45s), Paddy Maguire; Adrian Croal (0-02), James Glancy, James Rooney; Niall Brady (0-02), Evan Sweeney (0-01), Conor Dolan (0-07, 4f).

Subs: Gerry Hickey for Coyle (17 mins), Ronan Flynn for E. Sweeney (51 mins), Declan Byrne for Brady (58 mins), Brendan Byrne for T. McDonald (59), Daniel Maguire for Rooney (BC, 60 mins).

Ballinamore: Sean O’Heslins: Denis Dolan, Conor Moran, Oisin McCaffrey, Mathew Murphy, Keelan McHugh (0-1), Donal Feely, Liam Ferguson; Niall McGovern, Wayne McKeon (0-06, 5f); Mark McGrory, Shane Moran, Tom Prior (0-01); Luke Murphy (0-06, 5f), Dean McGovern (0-01), Barry McGovern.

Subs: Cathal McHugh for Moran (HT), Andrew Burns for McGrory (HT), Paddy Connaughton for B. McGovern (37 mins), Stephen McTague for Connaughton (59).