Castletown 3-16 Gusserane 2-10

Man of the match James Holmes inspired Castletown to the Wexford SFC crown at a sunny Innovate Wexford Park as they overcame a fright from 2016 champions Gusserane to ultimately power to victory.

Gusserane trailed 2-7 to 0-3 before closing it to 2-8 to 1-6 by half-time. But Castletown reasserted their superiority in the second half as the Timmy Walsh-managed north county men joined Volunteers at the summit of the roll of honour on 11 titles. It's their first crown since 2010.

Castletown made a sensational start when captain Brendan Halpin netted inside 30 seconds after combining with former Wexford star Colm Morris.

The sides shared the next four points before Castletown looked to exert complete control as James Holmes grabbed a hat-trick of points to help generate a commanding 1-7 to 0-2 lead after 21 minutes.

After Gusserane had a goal ruled out for a square infringement, Castletown were further boosted when Jonathan Bealin, son of Dublin legend Paul, rocketed to the net to embellish the margin to 2-7 to 0-3 after 25 minutes.

But Gusserane rallied with points from Seán Ryan and Páraic Conway, before Adrian Flynn pounced on a goalkeeping error to goal in the 28th minute and help shave the difference to 2-8 to 1-6 at half-time.

Castletown dominated the third quarter to stretch clear by 2-12 to 1-7 courtesy of the Holmes brothers, James (2) and Donnacha, together with Bealin.

Gusserane got themselves back in the hunt again when defender Gavin Sheehan palmed to the net in the 44th-minute to cut the gap to 2-12 to 2-8.

Castletown struck the jackpot yet again when substitute Robbie Brooks marked his entrance to proceedings by blasting to the net in the 54th minute (3-14 to 2-8) and paving the way for a maroon-and-white invasion of the pitch at the final-whistle.

Castletown: Anthony Masterson; Joe Ahern, Danny Gardiner, Frank Roche; Conor Carty (0-1), Colm Morris, Joe Gardiner; Rory Heffernan (0-1), Liam Coleman; Jody O'Shaughnessy, Jonathan Bealin (1-6, 0-2 frees), James Holmes (0-6); Donnacha Holmes (0-1), Ben Brosnan (0-1), Brendan Halpin (capt., 1-0).

Subs: Stephen Moloney for O'Shaughnessy (temp., 12-15); Stephen Moloney for O'Shaughnessy (38); Ross Cody for Aherne (49); Robbie Brooks (1-0) for J Holmes 54); Colin Kennedy for D Holmes (60); Killian Pierce for J Gardiner (60+2); Richard Farrell for Coleman (60+2).

Gusserane: Micheál Ryan; Jack O'Connor, Gavin Sheehan (1-0), Jack Burford; Adrian Redmond, Mark O'Neill, Graeme Cullen (capt.); John Roche, Cillian Kehoe; Kenneth Cahill, Sam Wall, Páraic Conway (0-2); Mark Rossiter (0-2), Adrian Flynn (1-3, 0-2 frees), Seán Ryan (0-3).

Subs: Shane Flynn for Adrian Redmond (24); Tom Foran for Kenneth Cahill (38); Shane Cullen for Cillian Kehoe (45); Fintan Ryan for John Roche (54).

Referee: Kevin Carty (Sarsfields).