Tipperary footballers have turned to the man who guided the county to the 2011 All-Ireland minor football title to help revive their fortunes.

David Power managed Tipp to victory over a star-studded Dublin side in that minor final eight years ago and he has been appointed as manager of the seniors ahead of the 2020 season on a two-year term.

Liam Kearns stepped down at the end of the most recent campaign, which ended in disappointing fashion and featured relegation from Division 3 of the league.

Power had an unsuccessful spell in charge of Wexford before returning to his native county and he has put together an impressive looking backroom team.

Included are Charlie McGeever, the Donegal man who managed Finn Harps in the League of Ireland before taking Tipp to the 2015 All-Ireland minor final and winning a Munster club title with Clonmel Commercials the same year.

Former Dublin full-back Paddy Christie, the man credited with helping to develop players like seven-time Dublin All-Ireland winner Philly McMahon, former Clare goalkeeper Joe Hayes and Michael McGeehin, who coached Tipp under Peter Creedon, are also involved.

In 2011 Tipperary would have been All-Ireland final underdogs against a Dubs minor side featuring the likes of John Small, Jack McCaffrey, Cormac Costello, Ciarán Kilkenny and Paul Mannion.

But they won a brilliant game 3-09 to 1-14 thanks to a late, late goal from Séamus Kennedy. Power managed Tipperary's Under-20s this year.