Armagh county board are this evening set to nominate Jarlath Burns as the next GAA president.

A new president will be elected at Congress 2020 to replace John Horan and serve for a three-year term running from 2021 to 2024.

The Silverbridge Harps clubman had a long career as both player and administrator. 

Burns played for Armagh for over a decade, captaining the county to the Ulster title in his final year in 1999, their first provincial success in 17 seasons.

Immediately upon his inter-county retirement, he became a high-profile administrator, serving on Central Council between 2000 and 2003 and becoming the first players' representative to sit on the Ard Comhairle. 

He was chairman of both the Standing Committee on the Playing Rules and the 125th Anniversary Committee. Burns is currently the Armagh delegate to Ulster GAA and serves on the management committee of both Armagh and Ulster GAA. 

When nominated this evening, Burns' name will be the second in the ring after Roscommon's Mick Rock was proposed on Monday night.

If elected, Burns would be the first President from the six counties since Peter Quinn in the early 1990s.