Tipperary 3-15 Cork 2-17

Tipperary senior star Jake Morris was the toast of Tipperary with a goal three minutes into injury time which gave his side victory over Cork in a thrilling Munster Under 20 hurling final at Semple Stadium, Thurles this evening.

It was a dramatic end to a topsy-turvy game, in which Cork looked certain to win when Evan Sheehan netted for them in the 59th minute for a 2-16 to 2-14 lead.

The sides swapped points as the game drifted into added time but with defeat staring them in the face, Morris latched on to a delivery from Bryan O Mara and rifled home from an acute angle for a goal that had the Tipp fans in the 9,117 attendance on their toes.

It was All-Ireland champions Tipperary's first win at provincial level since 2010. They got off to a great start with a Conor Bowe goal after four minutes but Cork soon asserted themselves and helped by a Sean Twomey goal in the 13th minute were 1-9 to 1-4 clear by the 21st minute.

Tipperary raised their game and a goal by sub Kian O Kelly in the 29th minute nudged them ahead(2-7 to 1-9) but in injury time Tommy O Connell levelled for cork, 1-10 to 2-7.

The victorious Tipperary U20 team

The second half was every bit as thrilling with Tipp making most of the running and cork tagging them all the way.

The Leesiders looked likely winners when Sheehan bagged their second goal in the 59th minute for a two point lead but in a hectic finish Morris turned up trumps for Tipp with the winning goal deep in injury time.

Tipp now go forward to meet Wexford in the All-Ireland semi-final with cork pitted against Leinster champions, Kilkenny in the other semi-final.

While Morris was the star for Tipp with the winning goal, the contributions of Paddy Cadell, Jerome Cahill, Ciaran Connolly, Conor Bowe and Bryan O Mara were also immense.

Cork could still have a big say in the destination of the All-Ireland title. Their top men were Sean O Leary-Hayes, Shane O Regan, Daire Connery, Sean Twomey, and Ger Mellerick.

Tipperary: A Browne; C McCarthy, M Purcell, C Morgan; E Connolly, P Cadell, B O Mara(0-1); C Connolly, J Cahill(0-2); G O Connor(0-1), J Morris (1-4,0-2fs), J Fogarty; A Ormonde(0-1), B Seymour(0-1), C Bowe(1-4);

Subs: K O Kelly(1-0) for Fogarty,(19mins); W Heffernan for Purcell(h/t), J Ryan for Seymour(44mins), D Woods(0-1) for O Kelly(52mins), R McCormack for Ormonde(63mins);

Cork: G Collins; C O Callaghan, J Keating, E Roche(0-1); G Mellerick, S O Leary-Hayes, R Downey; T O Connell(0-1), R Walsh(0-1); S Twomey(1-2), C Hanafin(0-4,3fs) D Connery(0-2,1f); B Turnbull(0-2), S O Regan(0-3), L O Shea;

Subs: S Kennefick for L O Shea(h/t), E Sheehan(1-0) for O Regan(46mins), P Power(0-1) for Downey(49mins), B Murphy for Hanafin(56 mins);

Referee: T Walsh, Waterford