Mayo 1-25 Sligo 1-06

Defending champions Mayo cruised into next week's Connacht Under-20 Football Championship final with a comfortable victory over Sligo in Castlebar.

Michael Solan’s charges hit all but two points of their final tally from open play with 11 different players getting on the scoresheet on a balmy evening at MacHale Park.

It was an impressive show of strength from a Mayo side that had the game wrapped up by half-time and a goal from corner-back Oisin Mullin in the 56th minute put the seal on a facile win.

Sligo tried hard until the bitter end but they were no match for a Mayo side that started with just two members of the team that lined out in last year’s All-Ireland final defeat to Kildare - midfielder Evan O’Brien and captain Tommy Conroy.

The experienced duo finished with 11 points between them and led by example but, in truth, Sligo were unable to ask any questions of their hosts.

Mayo led at the end of a one-sided first half by 0-12 to 0-2.

Ten of their points came from play as the home side threw the ball around with confidence in the perfect conditions.

Sligo struggled to make inroads against a very well-organised Mayo back line but they were also left to rue a missed penalty in the 27th minute.

By that stage the Yeats County youngsters were eight points behind, but any hopes of a lifeline were dashed when Alan Reilly’s effort was well saved by Mayo goalkeeper Jamie McNicholas.

The sides had traded points in the opening minutes but the eventual winners then took control with captain Tommy Conroy (3), Aidan Orme (3), Evan O’Brien (3, two frees), Paddy Goldrick (2) and Stephen McGreal all kicking a string of impressive scores.

Sligo only managed one point from play in that opening period, an effort from Gavin Gorman in the fifth minute.

Mayo finished the game with 14 men after substitute Nathan Moran was shown a black card in the 58th minute, by which stage they had used up all their allowed substitutions. 

Mayo will now meet Galway in the final next Wednesday evening at Tuam Stadium.

Mayo: J McNicholas; J Coyne, R Brickenden, O Mullin (1-0); A McDonnell, C Beirne, E McLaughlin; E O’Brien (0-6, 4fs), G Durcan (0-2); J Gallagher (0-1), P Towey (0-1), P Goldrick (0-2); A Orme (0-3), S McGreal (0-3), T Conroy (0-5).

Subs: D McBrien for Coyne (black card, 12); D Gannon for McLaughlin (ht); N Moran (0-1) for Goldrick (42); M Moran (0-1) for McGreal (44); K Conway for Gallagher (47); C Gavin for Conroy (54).

Sligo: A Davey; E Lyons, J Ellis, D Barrett; C Surlis, R McHugh, J Carroll; L Towey, D McDermott; K McKenna, S Deignan (0-2, 2fs), N Connolly; A Reilly (0-1, 1f), B Gorman (0-3), G Gorman.

Subs: S Carroll (1-0) for Connolly (22); H Gilvarry for Connolly (ht); C Marren for McDermott (ht); C Brett for Reilly (37); P Flynn for McKenna (49); E Hallinan for Barrett (55).

Referee: J Molloy (Galway)