The All-Ireland hurling quarter-finals will return to Croke Park for the first time in nine years later this month.

Kilkenny against the winner of this weekend's preliminary quarter-final between Cork and Westmeath, and Tipperary versus either Dublin or Laois will be played at GAA Headquarters on Sunday, 14 July.

The quarter-finals have generally been held in Thurles or, for the past two years, Páirc Uí Chaoimh, but this summer they are moving back to Dublin.

First on the double-header will be the Cats’ match throwing in at 2pm with Tipperary’s game at 4pm.

At the same times the first two games in Group 1 of the Super 8s All-Ireland football quarter-finals will be taking place – Donegal against Meath or Clare at 2pm and Kerry-Galway/Mayo at 4pm.

Those games are in Ballybofey and Killarney respectively.

On Saturday week, 13 July, in Group 2 Roscommon will host Cavan or Tyrone at Dr Hyde Park with a 5pm throw-in followed at 7pm by Dublin versus the winner of Cork and Laois at Croke Park.

The GAA have also announced the fixture details for the second round of the Super 8s, with all games in Croke Park.

On Saturday, 20 July is Cork/Laois take on Cavan/Tyrone at 5pm followed by the clash of the Leinster and Connacht champions, Dublin and Roscommon, at 7pm.

Then on the Sunday, 21 July, it’s Galway or Mayo versus Meath or Clare at 2pm and Kerry-Donegal at 4pm.

The compressed nature of the new inter-county GAA season, which ends two weeks earlier than previously, means that big fixture clashes are inevitable.

Having All-Ireland hurling and football quarter-finals up against each other is likely to cause logistical headaches and force fans into making choices about what games they watch of attend.

Saturday 13 July 

All-Ireland SFC quarter-final phase 1

Dublin v Cork or Laois, Croke Park, 7pm

Roscommon v Cavan or Tyrone, Dr Hyde Park, 5pm

Sunday 14 July

All-Ireland SFC quarter-final phase 1

Kerry v Galway or Mayo, Killarney, 4pm

Donegal v Meath or Clare, Ballybofey, 2pm

All-Ireland SHC quarter-finals preliminaries 

Kilkenny v Westmeath or Cork, Croke Park, 2pm

Tipperary v Laois or Dublin, Croke Park, 4pm