By Gavin Cawley

Sligo secured their second straight promotion courtesy of a late, late show in the Nicky Rackard Cup final.

Four points down to Armagh as the game approached injury-time, a point from Conor Griffin followed by a goal from Gerard O'Kelly Lynch and a 73rd minute point from Kieran Prior sealed victory for the 2018 Lory Meagher champions.

It looked like the game had gone away from Sligo when Danny McGee got his second goal of the match on 61 minutes, despite his team being reduced to 14 men as Tiarnan Nevin picked up two yellow cards. 

Sligo started the brighter of the sides as dual star O’Kelly Lynch got the opening score of the game which he netted for the after ball in by Kevin Banks after just two minutes. 

Armagh took their time to settle but three points on the spin from Eoin McGuinness and a free from Dean Gaffney had the sides level. It took Sligo 14 minutes to score again, courtesy of Keith Raymond - who scored six first half points, all from placed balls. 

The opening period was nip and tuck until the 31st minute as  McGee’s looping shot found the back of the net to take a two-point lead. Raymond kept Sligo in touch before Armagh took a two-point lead at the break 1-10 to 1-8 with points from frees from Gaffney.

Sligo: Mark Burke; James Weir, Niall Feehily, Kevin O’Kennedy; Kevin Banks, Liam Reidy, Rory McHugh; Ronan Cox (0-01), Joe Starr (0-01); Gerard O’Kelly Lynch( 2-01), Conor Griffin (0-01),  Kevin Gilmartin; Tony O’Kelly Lynch, Keith Raymond (0-08,7fs, 65), Gary Cadden

Subs: Shane Crowley (0-01) for Tony O’Kelly Lynch (ht), Mikey Gordon for Kevin O’Kennedy(44), Kieran Prior (0-01) for Gary Cadden (57)

Armagh: Simon Doherty(0-1,1f); Caolan Rice, Odhran Quinn, Patrick Quinn 0-01); Davy Bridges, Ciaran Clifford, Paddy McGrane; Odhran Curry, Tiarnan Nevin; Shaun Toal, Eoin McGuinness (0-02), Dean Gaffney (0-06, 6fs); Stevie Renaghan, Dylan McKenna (0-01), Danny Magee (2-00)

Subs: Nathan Curry (0-02) for Odhran McCann (20), Joe O’Connor for Shaun Toal (55)

Referee: James Connors (Donegal)