The GAA has announced the membership and terms of reference for its new Fixtures Calendar Review Task Force.

The committee, which has been established by Association president John Horan, has been tasked with having a report with recommendations ready for November, which will drive a discussion ahead of the potential for rule changes to be voted on at Congress 2020.

A statement said the committee had been asked to consider significant issues affecting the GAA fixtures calendar, including the scheduling and structure of inter-county competitions and the time available for clubs.

It is also to examine the need for a closed inter-county season and the feasability of playing the All-Ireland club finals within the calendar year.

The committee will be chaired by GAA management committee member Eddie O'Sullivan and includes representatives of the provincial councils, the Dublin and Cork CEOs , Meath minor manager Conor O'Donoghue and the chairs of the post primary and higher education committees.

The Club Players Association, which was founded by GAA members frustrated with the lack of a defined playing calendar for club games, is represented on the committee by Galway man Michael Higgins.

The inter-county Gaelic Players Association is represented by former Down footballer Ronan Sheehan.

The full list of committee members is: 

  • Eddie O’Sullivan (Chair) Member of An Coiste Bainistíochta, former club chair St Sylvester’s GAA, Dublin
  • Micheal Martin (Wexford) Chair GAA National Fixtures Analysts Committee
  • Kevin O’Donovan (Cork), CEO Cork GAA
  • Stephen Barker (Derry), Ulster GAA CCC
  • John Costello (Dublin), CEO Dublin GAA
  • John Prenty (Mayo), Secretary Connacht Council GAA
  • Michael Higgins (Galway) CPA Representative
  • Ronan Sheehan (Down) GPA Representative
  • Michael Hyland (Galway) Chair GAA Higher Education Committee
  • Seamus Woods (Down) Chair GAA Post Primary Schools’ Committee
  • Conor O’Donoghue (Meath) County Minor team manager