Leitrim secured promotion from Division 4 of the Allianz National Football League when they registered a five-point win over London in Carrick-on-Shannon.

It proved to be a hard-fought encounter with a nervousness among the 4,000-strong crowd as Leitrim failed to register a score until Shane Quinn pounced for a 23rd minute goal.

London had enjoyed a two-point lead at that stage, courtesy of pointed frees from Conor Doran and Liam Gavaghan.

In what was a game dominated by the defences, with tricky underfoot conditions making life difficult for both sides, Leitrim eased the nerves around Carrick-on-Shannon with a crucial goal, 12 minutes before the interval.

Domhnaill Flynn, Ryan O’Rourke and Pierce Dolan were heavily involved before the ball was bundled over the line by Quinn.

That score was followed by two points from Ryan O’Rourke and an excellent point from Gary Plunkett which was the highlight of the opening half.

Pierce McGirr replied with a London point and the first half scoring was completed with Leitrim’s Evan Sweeney and Liam Gavaghan for the hosts to give the hosts a 1-4 to 0-4 lead at the break.

A Domhnaill Flynn free in the early stages of the second half further extended Leitrim’s lead but it was to be a further 14 minutes before there was any addition to the scoreline when Aidan Flynn pointed to put five between the sides.

Liam Gavaghan converted two frees either side of a Gary Plunkett point as Leitrim edged towards victory on a day when the effort on show made up for the lack of quality.

Two late points from Ray Mulvey helped steady any lingering nerves around the ground as Leitrim secured promotion with two games of the campaign still to play.

Leitrim: Diarmuid McKiernan, Micheal McWeeney, Paddy Maguire, Aidan O’Flynn (0-01), Shane Quinn, Mark Plunkett, Ray Mulvey (0-02), Shane Moran, Pierce Dolan, Sean McWeeney, Domhnaill Flynn (0-01, f), Dean McGovern, Gary Plunkett (0-02), Evan Sweeney, Ryan O’Rourke (0-02, 1f).

Subs: Darragh Rooney for Sweeney (ht), Damien Moran for Dolan (52), Eoin Ward for Flynn (66), Emlyn Mulligan for O’Rourke (70), Cillian Mcgloin for Moran (70).

London: Daniel McDonagh, Philip Butler, Conor O’Neill, Matthew Moynihan, Pierce McGirr (0-01), Michael Clarke, Ryan Jones, David Carrabine, Liam Gavaghan (0-04, 3f), James Hynes, Marck Gottsche, Barry Tully, Conor Doran (0-01, f), Aidan McGarvey.

Subs: Fearghal McMahon (0-01) for McGarvey (48), Liam Gallagher for Doran (48), Sean Hickey for Hynes (54), Niall Coffey for McGirr (60), John Winters for Jones (68).

Referee: Liam Devenney (Mayo)