By Mac Dara Mac Donncha in Carriganore

A strong finish, where they outscored visitors Antrim by 1-3 to 0-0, ensured Waterford’s second victory in succession in the Allianz League, Division 4 clash at windswept Carriganore this afternoon.

Played before a miniscule crowd of 86 patrons, the inclement weather made it difficult for both teams and with a heavy emphasis on defence, scores were at a premium.

The sides were level on five occasions in a cagey opening half, and a late JJ Hutchinson point gave the hosts a slender one point interval lead of 0-6 to 0-5.

Their advantage seemed inadequate given that they had played with a strong wind. Antrim dominated the third quarter and with Patrick McBride kicking his fourth point from play, they quickly equalised.

Stephen Beatty then got a fist to a Ryan Murray cross to give them a clear lead, and with further points from Colm Duffin and Ryan Murray, they looked home and hosed after 53 minutes.

They wouldn’t score again, however, as Waterford persisted. Padraig Nugent spilled possession in the 57th minute with Dylan Guiry on hand to finish the ball to the net and points by Sean O’Donovan and JJ Hutchinson levelled affairs by the 65th minute.

Full-back James McGrath then advanced with purpose in the 73rd minute to seal the points for Benji Whelan’s charges.

Waterford scorers: D Guiry(1-1), JJ Hutchinson(0-2), F Ó Cuirrín(0-2, fs), S O‘Donovan(0-1), J McGrath(0-1), S Whelan-Barrett(0-1), T Prendergast(0-1).

Antrim scorers: P McBride(0-4), S Beatty(1-0), M Fitzpatrick(0-1), O Wastwood(0-1), C Duffiin(0-1), R Murray(0-1, f).

Waterford: A Beresford, S O’Donovan, J McGrath, B Looby, T Ó hUallacháin, S Ryan, J Gleeson, S Aherne, T Prendergast, S Whelan-Barrett, D Guiry, F Ó Cuirrín, M Curry, C Murray, J Mullaney.

Subs: J Allen for Aherne(7), JJ Hutchinson for Mullaney(27), D Hutchinson for Ó Cuirrín(h/t), S Enright for Beresford(h/t)

Antrim: P Nugent, P McCormick, R Johnston, M McCarry, N Delargy, P Gallagher, D Lynch, S Beatty, K Quinn, M Fitzpatrick, C Duffin, R Murray, P McBride, O Eastwood.

Subs: R McCann for Eastwood(h/t), E Walsh for Delargy(54), J McAuley for Beatty(64), C Hamill for Gallagher(64)

Referee: S Mulvihill(Kerry)