Wexford atoned for shock back-to-back reversals against London and Waterford when surviving a late fright against neighbours Wicklow in Saturday's Allianz Football League fifth-round Division 4 derby at wintry Aughrim.

Wexford led 0-11 to 0-04 at half-time, but John Evans' Wicklow almost snatched a draw when James Stafford's flick-on crashed off an upright in the dying seconds.

Wicklow needed victory to maintain the pressure on pacesetters Derry and Leitrim, but those sides now look destined for the divisional final and promotion.

Wicklow began brightly against the wind as Daniel Keane pointed inside three minutes.

The table after today's games

But Wexford soon got to grips with matters when capitalising upon the elements to sweep clear by 0-8 to 0-1 after 29 minutes through free-taker Jonathan Bealin (4), Niall Hughes, Conor Devitt (2) and Barry O'Connor.

The home-side pegged it back to 0-09 to 0-04 as Conor McGraynor struck twice. But Wicklow had a massive let off deep into added-time when Kevin O'Grady flashed a goaling chance over to increase Wexford's interval lead to 0-11 to 0-4.

The opening ten minutes of the second-half were bereft of scores before wind-assisted Wicklow gained encouragement when closing to within 0-12 to 0-08 after 53 minutes courtesy of sub Jody Merrigan (a '45), Mark Kenny, Chris O'Brien and Stephen Duffy (free).

But the 59th-minute sin-binning of attacker Merrigan hindered Wicklow prospects, although after Stephen Duffy pointed a late free, the locals went within an upright of snatching a draw only for James Stafford's touch to hit the woodwork much to Wexford's relief.

Wicklow: Robert Lambert; Oisín Manning, Ross O'Brien, Eoin Murtagh; David Devereux, Jamie Snell, Darragh Fitzgerald; Conor McGraynor (0-02 frees), Dean Healy (0-01); Darren Hayden, Pádraig O'Toole, Conor Healy; Mark Kenny (0-01), Chris O'Brien (0-01), Daniel Keane (0-01).

Subs: Stephen Duffy (0-02 frees) for Healy (ht); Jody Merrigan (0-01 '45) for McGraynor (ht); James Stafford for Keane (49); Gearóid Murphy for C O'Brien (59); Saoirse Kearon for Hayden (62).

Wexford: Matt Doyle; Michael Furlong, Mark O'Neill, Gavin Sheehan; Glen Malone, Brian Malone, Conor Carty; Daithí Waters, Niall Hughes (0-02); Conor Devitt (0-02), Barry O'Connor (0-01), Eoghan Nolan; Kevin O'Grady (0-01), Jonathan Bealin (0-04 frees), Ben Brosnan (0-02).

Subs: Tiarnan Rossiter for Brosnan (52); Tom Byrne for O'Connor (63); Eoin Porter for O'Grady (70).

Referee: Seamus Mulhare (Laois).