A magnificent performance from Carlow gave Colm Bonnar’s side a historic draw against Galway, with the game finishing level after both teams put on a treat of a spectacle.

There was a huge Galway crowd present in Carlow and they could only have dreamed of witnessing the superb performance that Carlow delivered.

This was a case of Carlow performing superbly rather than the heavy favourites failing to perform and this result should give serious courage to the smaller hurling counties.

Carlow lifted the Christy Ring trophy in 2017 and the Joe McDonagh Cup in 2018 and this result may finally give Carlow the respect they deserve.

It was Galway who opened the scoring with a point from Thomas Monaghan and two place ball efforts from Joe Canning gave the visitors a three-point advantage in the early stages of the game.

One could have been forgiven for thinking this was going to be a one-sided affair after the start Galway had, but Carlow responded superbly with a free from Martin Kavanagh opening his side's account.

Galway replied with two points from Sean Kilduff and Monaghan but three successive Carlow scores reduced the deficit to a single point.

Galway hit ten wides in the opening half alone but the Tribesman still held a deserved 0-11 to 0-7 lead at half-time.

A close range free from Joe Canning after the interval gave his side a 0-12 to 0-7 lead but it was all Carlow from this point onwards.

Four points in succession, three of which came from Martin Kavanagh, reduced the deficit to a single point and momentum was with Carlow at this stage.

Galway could never quite pull away from the home side, who never took the lead throughout the game.

An inspirational score from Aidan Harte looked to have won the game for Galway but Carlow were awarded a free in the last minute, which gave them a chance to level the game.

Martin Kavanagh showed serious guts to slot the free and give his side a historic draw which was fully deserved.

Carlow: Brian Tracey; Alan Corcoran, Paul Doyle, Michael Doyle; Eoin Nolan, David English (0-01, 0-01f), Richard Coady; Jack Kavanagh, Sean Whelan (0-01); John Michael Nolan, Martin Kavanagh (0-11, 0-10f), Seamus Murphy (0-02); Ted Joyce (0-01), Edward Byrne (0-01), James Doyle (0-01).

Subs: Chris Nolan (0-02) for Joyce (54), Jon Nolan for Byrne (59).

Galway: Colm Callanan; Darren Morrissey, Jack Fitzpatrick, Sean Loftus (0-01); Greg Lally, Padraic Mannion, Aidan Harte (0-01); Johnny Coen (0-02), Sean Kilduff (0-02); Brian Concannon (0-01), Cathal Mannion (0-01), Jason Flynn; Joe Canning (0-10, 0-08f), Thomas Monaghan (0-02), Davy Glennon.

Subs: Sean Bleahene for Glennon (10), Sean Linnane for Lally (h-t), Ronan O’Meara for Monaghan (65).

Referee: Cathal McAllister (Cork).